What counts as a Hoard Item before it starts to steep?
Based on the description of the Dragon Slayer Longsword, It would technically meet the criteria.
"This weapon is decorated with dragon heads, claws, wings, scales, or Draconic letters. When it steeps in a dragon’s hoard, it absorbs the energy of the dragon’s breath weapon and deals damage of that type with its special properties."
Hoard items are those specific items listed in the hoard magic items section of Fizban’s. Namely the Dragon’s Wrath weapon, Dragon-Touched Focus, Dragon Vessel, and Scaled Ornament.
Not to be too cute, but whatever your DM decides is one. There’s the ones listed in the book, but if your DM says leaving that +1 dagger in the horde will do it some good, then it will. If the DM says it won’t work, it won’t.
Not to be too cute, but whatever your DM decides is one. There’s the ones listed in the book, but if your DM says leaving that +1 dagger in the horde will do it some good, then it will. If the DM says it won’t work, it won’t.
If your DM says leaving a +1 dagger in a dragon's hoard it ends the world, kills all life, and then recreates existence... that is also true.
As far as printed rules go, only the specific items listed in Fizbans are dragon hoard items, and they're the only ones that work in this way.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
What counts as a Hoard Item before it starts to steep?
Based on the description of the Dragon Slayer Longsword, It would technically meet the criteria.
"This weapon is decorated with dragon heads, claws, wings, scales, or Draconic letters. When it steeps in a dragon’s hoard, it absorbs the energy of the dragon’s breath weapon and deals damage of that type with its special properties."
Hoard items are those specific items listed in the hoard magic items section of Fizban’s. Namely the Dragon’s Wrath weapon, Dragon-Touched Focus, Dragon Vessel, and Scaled Ornament.
I mean before steeping
If they haven't been steeped then they're in their Slumbering form, that's the base level for those items.
Not to be too cute, but whatever your DM decides is one. There’s the ones listed in the book, but if your DM says leaving that +1 dagger in the horde will do it some good, then it will. If the DM says it won’t work, it won’t.
If your DM says leaving a +1 dagger in a dragon's hoard it ends the world, kills all life, and then recreates existence... that is also true.
As far as printed rules go, only the specific items listed in Fizbans are dragon hoard items, and they're the only ones that work in this way.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.