TLDR: My question is as an Armorer 5/Soulknife 3 could I, RAW, get one attack with Psychic Blades > Extra Attack with Thunder Gauntlets > Bonus action Psychic Blade attack once more?
Long version: I have a bit of a common sense/dumb question but wanted to be certain regarding ruling. I enjoy theory-crafting builds to match OC's I create but try to ensure they fit within the RAW in terms of how they function. I wanted to make an Artificer Armorer/Rogue Soulknife. My question was regarding using the Soulknife's Psychic Blades when also using the Thunder Gauntlets of the Guardian Armor Model.
RAW "Each of the armor's gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you aren't holding anything in it" would imply they count as a "free hand" for the Psychic Blades. However I've also seen posts of how Armor's can get the Dual Wielder feat as you're technically using two one handed weapons in either hand and that states "you are wielding a separate melee weapon in each hand". My question is as an Armorer at level 5 could I, RAW, get one attack with Psychic Blades > Extra Attack with Thunder Gauntlets > Bonus action Psychic Blade or attack once more? Or am I unable to generate Psychic Blades while also wearing Guardian Armor?
I'm none too fussed about how viable or strong this class would be, the classes are chosen for lore/story reasons. My main purpose for Psychic Blades would be getting Sneak Attack damage for a big "Falcon Punch" type thing at higher levels.
First time post. I hope this is the right area to post. Sorry if it's a dumb question. :P
(Extra Info - The final build would be Soulknife 6/Armorer 3/Paladin 11 (extra attack). Hoping for Spirit Shroud + Improved Divine Smite for 2d8 on all 3 attacks, 3d6 sneak attack damage Psychic Blade w/ Divine Smite 4th level spell slot 5d8)
This is quite similar to pretty popular combo: Beast Barbarian + Soulknife. Gauntlets are very similarly worded to beast claws, and I see no reason this shouldn't work. "While you aren't holding anything in it" seems pretty synonymous with "free hand" to me.
It should work. If you use your thunder gauntlets and your hands are not considered “free” does that mean you have to take them off to pick something up? I don’t think so. You can freely wield a weapon in your hand(s) while wearing your armor. You just can’t thunder gauntlet someone while your hand is full. Since Psychic Blades disappear immediately after you attack (hit or miss) your hands are free to punch someone.
I don't see any issues with this from a strict RAW perspective. People do like to debate over what counts as wielding and holding when it comes to Two-Weapon Fighting. However as DxJxC points out, the bonus action attack granted by Psychic Blades is distinct from Two-Weapon Fighting and doesn't have the same hiccups in its wording.
As you noted Thunder Gauntlets say they count as a weapon when you aren't holding anything in it. This tells us that you can hold things with your Thunder Gauntlets (just like ordinary gauntlets) and so count as a free hand.
Furthermore, Psychic Blades tells us they vanish immediately after the attack is resolved. So once you have Extra Attack you could start by attacking with a Psychic Blade in your main hand, then attack with your Thunder Gauntlet on your main hand, and then attack with your other Psychic Blade in your offhand. Also the bonus action attack granted by Psychic Blades doesn't need to wait until the Attack Action is fully resolved. It just requires you to have made one attack with your main Psychic Blade first.
Finally, there is also the Lightning Launcher which doesn't have to be located on the gauntlets if you need something that will work for sure.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi,
TLDR: My question is as an Armorer 5/Soulknife 3 could I, RAW, get one attack with Psychic Blades > Extra Attack with Thunder Gauntlets > Bonus action Psychic Blade attack once more?
Long version: I have a bit of a common sense/dumb question but wanted to be certain regarding ruling. I enjoy theory-crafting builds to match OC's I create but try to ensure they fit within the RAW in terms of how they function. I wanted to make an Artificer Armorer/Rogue Soulknife. My question was regarding using the Soulknife's Psychic Blades when also using the Thunder Gauntlets of the Guardian Armor Model.
RAW "Each of the armor's gauntlets counts as a simple melee weapon while you aren't holding anything in it" would imply they count as a "free hand" for the Psychic Blades. However I've also seen posts of how Armor's can get the Dual Wielder feat as you're technically using two one handed weapons in either hand and that states "you are wielding a separate melee weapon in each hand". My question is as an Armorer at level 5 could I, RAW, get one attack with Psychic Blades > Extra Attack with Thunder Gauntlets > Bonus action Psychic Blade or attack once more? Or am I unable to generate Psychic Blades while also wearing Guardian Armor?
I'm none too fussed about how viable or strong this class would be, the classes are chosen for lore/story reasons. My main purpose for Psychic Blades would be getting Sneak Attack damage for a big "Falcon Punch" type thing at higher levels.
First time post. I hope this is the right area to post. Sorry if it's a dumb question. :P
(Extra Info - The final build would be Soulknife 6/Armorer 3/Paladin 11 (extra attack). Hoping for Spirit Shroud + Improved Divine Smite for 2d8 on all 3 attacks, 3d6 sneak attack damage Psychic Blade w/ Divine Smite 4th level spell slot 5d8)
Thanks
Always best to ask your DM in these situations. I would allow it.
Two weapon fighting rules (which this isn't, but is similar to) get pretty confusing when thrown/dropped/natural weapons get involved.
This is quite similar to pretty popular combo: Beast Barbarian + Soulknife. Gauntlets are very similarly worded to beast claws, and I see no reason this shouldn't work. "While you aren't holding anything in it" seems pretty synonymous with "free hand" to me.
It should work. If you use your thunder gauntlets and your hands are not considered “free” does that mean you have to take them off to pick something up? I don’t think so. You can freely wield a weapon in your hand(s) while wearing your armor. You just can’t thunder gauntlet someone while your hand is full. Since Psychic Blades disappear immediately after you attack (hit or miss) your hands are free to punch someone.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
I don't see any issues with this from a strict RAW perspective. People do like to debate over what counts as wielding and holding when it comes to Two-Weapon Fighting. However as DxJxC points out, the bonus action attack granted by Psychic Blades is distinct from Two-Weapon Fighting and doesn't have the same hiccups in its wording.
As you noted Thunder Gauntlets say they count as a weapon when you aren't holding anything in it. This tells us that you can hold things with your Thunder Gauntlets (just like ordinary gauntlets) and so count as a free hand.
Furthermore, Psychic Blades tells us they vanish immediately after the attack is resolved. So once you have Extra Attack you could start by attacking with a Psychic Blade in your main hand, then attack with your Thunder Gauntlet on your main hand, and then attack with your other Psychic Blade in your offhand. Also the bonus action attack granted by Psychic Blades doesn't need to wait until the Attack Action is fully resolved. It just requires you to have made one attack with your main Psychic Blade first.
Finally, there is also the Lightning Launcher which doesn't have to be located on the gauntlets if you need something that will work for sure.