I recently ran an encounter with my players where the enemies' end goal was to steal an artefact the players had. Eventually this happened; and as the enemy ran away with the artifact, my wizard decided to cast Levitate on the artefact.
In the moment, I wound up ruling it that the enemy would make a Con save (as stated in the spell) even though the spell is targeting the object. RAW, it seems like you should just be able to choose an object that someone's wearing/carrying and levitate it with no saving throw. This seems a bit ridiculous.
What are other people's thoughts on this? Did I read Levitate incorrectly? It seemed weird to have levitate just stop what would have otherwise been a fun chase encounter. I'm hoping to clear this up before the next time we play, so I'll know what to do the next time this happens.
As Farling said, Levitate target loose object, so those worn or carried are not eligible target for the spell. But the creature carrying it is, so in the end, targeting him and making a saving throw to see if it levitates with the object would have been possible.
I recently ran an encounter with my players where the enemies' end goal was to steal an artefact the players had. Eventually this happened; and as the enemy ran away with the artifact, my wizard decided to cast Levitate on the artefact.
In the moment, I wound up ruling it that the enemy would make a Con save (as stated in the spell) even though the spell is targeting the object. RAW, it seems like you should just be able to choose an object that someone's wearing/carrying and levitate it with no saving throw. This seems a bit ridiculous.
What are other people's thoughts on this? Did I read Levitate incorrectly? It seemed weird to have levitate just stop what would have otherwise been a fun chase encounter. I'm hoping to clear this up before the next time we play, so I'll know what to do the next time this happens.
I know what you're thinking: "In that flurry of blows, did he use all his ki points, or save one?" Well, are ya feeling lucky, punk?
A carried object isn't "loose", so the spell wouldn't affect it.
As Farling said, Levitate target loose object, so those worn or carried are not eligible target for the spell. But the creature carrying it is, so in the end, targeting him and making a saving throw to see if it levitates with the object would have been possible.
This