This isn't about teleporting while on the receiving end of a grapple - let's say something has gone horribly wrong and your wizard is administering the grappled condition to the BBEG. If they cast Misty Step, would the BBEG be teleported along with them?
I'm making a homebrew space-warping snake that constricts enemies and can then teleport as a bonus action. Wondering if it can drag the constricted creature with it by default, or if I have to specify.
This isn't about teleporting while on the receiving end of a grapple - let's say something has gone horribly wrong and your wizard is administering the grappled condition to the BBEG. If they cast Misty Step, would the BBEG be teleported along with them?
Since Misty Step doesn't say you can bring anyone with you - then you can't.
Most spells that let you take somebody with you when teleporting usually require the target to be willing, such as Dimension Door.
There are spells to teleport enemies, but they have no interactions with grapples. E.g. Vortex Warp, Scatter, Plane Shift...
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
On your first question: no, teleporting away is one of the ways that a grapple will end with no contested checks. the teleporting wizard would leave the grappled BBEG behind if they used misty step.
On your second question: you would need to specify that the space-warping snake brings creatures it has grappled with it when it teleports. you might add it to the teleport bonus action this way..."Creatures currently grappled by the snake are teleported with it when it uses this ability and remain grappled upon reappearance."
I'm making a homebrew space-warping snake that constricts enemies and can then teleport as a bonus action. Wondering if it can drag the constricted creature with it by default, or if I have to specify.
You need to specify. Teleportation brings only objects you are wearing and carrying by default.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
This isn't about teleporting while on the receiving end of a grapple - let's say something has gone horribly wrong and your wizard is administering the grappled condition to the BBEG. If they cast Misty Step, would the BBEG be teleported along with them?
I'm making a homebrew space-warping snake that constricts enemies and can then teleport as a bonus action. Wondering if it can drag the constricted creature with it by default, or if I have to specify.
Since Misty Step doesn't say you can bring anyone with you - then you can't.
Most spells that let you take somebody with you when teleporting usually require the target to be willing, such as Dimension Door.
There are spells to teleport enemies, but they have no interactions with grapples. E.g. Vortex Warp, Scatter, Plane Shift...
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
On your first question: no, teleporting away is one of the ways that a grapple will end with no contested checks. the teleporting wizard would leave the grappled BBEG behind if they used misty step.
On your second question: you would need to specify that the space-warping snake brings creatures it has grappled with it when it teleports. you might add it to the teleport bonus action this way..."Creatures currently grappled by the snake are teleported with it when it uses this ability and remain grappled upon reappearance."
You need to specify. Teleportation brings only objects you are wearing and carrying by default.