A player in my campaign requested that his barbarian/forge cleric be allowed to add a bit of rope to a net to turn it into a melee weapon so he can benefit from Rage damage when using the net
I ruled that I believed that would unbalance the net and that it is fine and powerful enough as is.
Do you know if any first party official 5th D&D sources that reimagines the net as a melee weapon?
Was the net a 4th edition melee weapon? I'm not that familiar with 4th edition rules and this player was BIG into 4th edition.
If a player asked the same for his character in your campaign what would you rule?
I would not allow a net with a bit of rope as a melee weapon. You could do something like allow them to put a large rock into the net. Then it might be similar to a great club. I would then say it's an action to swap between net and "greatclub net".
The net is practically meant to be an awful combat tool. This might have been more appropriate for the DM forum since you are asking for ruling help. I personally would ignore the rule that a net gobbles up all actions, irrespective of how many a PC might have. I would also allow the barbarian to make improvements to the net over time to do things like up the AC. Not at low levels though, because restrained is a powerful condition. Perhaps even at higher levels, should the barbarian want to continue to make a net a regular part of their strategy, I would even allow damage to be used, but likely not rage bonus damage. Perhaps proficiency damage.
I've already made my ruling, but wondered what others think. Yeah, I suppose posting it the DM section might have made more sense but this glitched version of me posted here. 🤷
Quick question, does a Net normal do damage at your table?
I ask because according to the PHB a net has no damage die and the only thing hitting with a Net does is cause the Restrained condition.
A Barbarian's Rage adds bonus damage to a damage roll, which a Net doesn't normally do. Also a Barbarian's Rage damage bonus applies to melee weapon attacks and when you throw a weapon you are making a ranged weapon attack, even if the weapon you are throwing is a melee weapon.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
A player in my campaign requested that his barbarian/forge cleric be allowed to add a bit of rope to a net to turn it into a melee weapon so he can benefit from Rage damage when using the net
I ruled that I believed that would unbalance the net and that it is fine and powerful enough as is.
Do you know if any first party official 5th D&D sources that reimagines the net as a melee weapon?
Was the net a 4th edition melee weapon? I'm not that familiar with 4th edition rules and this player was BIG into 4th edition.
If a player asked the same for his character in your campaign what would you rule?
Lots of questions here. Thanks in advance!
I would not allow a net with a bit of rope as a melee weapon. You could do something like allow them to put a large rock into the net. Then it might be similar to a great club. I would then say it's an action to swap between net and "greatclub net".
I've already made my ruling, but wondered what others think. Yeah, I suppose posting it the DM section might have made more sense but this glitched version of me posted here. 🤷
Quick question, does a Net normal do damage at your table?
I ask because according to the PHB a net has no damage die and the only thing hitting with a Net does is cause the Restrained condition.
A Barbarian's Rage adds bonus damage to a damage roll, which a Net doesn't normally do. Also a Barbarian's Rage damage bonus applies to melee weapon attacks and when you throw a weapon you are making a ranged weapon attack, even if the weapon you are throwing is a melee weapon.