The feat lets throw weapons. "Simple and martial weapons without the Thrown property have the Thrown property for You." A further detail of this feat says that light weapons you throw boomerang back to you, provided it isnt met by a circumstance that renders such impossible.
This got me to think about the Returning Weapon infusion available to Artificers. You can apply it to a weapon with the Thrown property and once thrown, hit or miss, it magically is sent back to your hand.
So if the feat says that "weapons without the thrown property, have the thrown property for you", could one, for example, take the feat, take a great sword, and because the great sword has the thrown property "for them", apply the Returning Weapon infusion to the Greatsword, attune to it, and have a chunk of metal they can throw and ensure it comes back?
Not so much a question of practicality, more so, "is this incredibly stupid thing possible."
To my memory no official ruling has been made on this. As written it works as long as the Artificier is not the one with the Thrown Arms Master feat it appears.
To my memory no official ruling has been made on this. As written it works as long as the Artificier is not the one with the Thrown Arms Master feat it appears.
What brings you to that conclusion? I would think the opposite: it works only if the Artificer is the one with the feat, since the feat only makes the weapon have the thrown property "for you". An Artificer without the feat wouldn't be able to apply the infusion, but one with the feat would because the weapon would meet the requirement for the infusion, if only for them.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Without having to go look it up myself can you be so kind as to mention the range of throwing the weapon this way?
20/60 for one-handed weapons, 15/30 for two-handed weapons.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
To my memory no official ruling has been made on this. As written it works as long as the Artificier is not the one with the Thrown Arms Master feat it appears.
What brings you to that conclusion? I would think the opposite: it works only if the Artificer is the one with the feat, since the feat only makes the weapon have the thrown property "for you". An Artificer without the feat wouldn't be able to apply the infusion, but one with the feat would because the weapon would meet the requirement for the infusion, if only for them.
I meant the opposite, for reasons you explained but somewhat wrote ''not'' by mistake.
Does it mean that other bonuses I gain for thrown weapons now apply to other weapons? I am gonna play Eldritch Knight soon, I am gonna take Dual Wielder feat and Thrown Weapon fighting style. I wonder, with those plus Thrown Arms Master I should be able to action surge and throw my weapon bonded battleaxe multiple times, right? But the boomerang bonus seems to be redundant now.
Does it mean that other bonuses I gain for thrown weapons now apply to other weapons? I am gonna play Eldritch Knight soon, I am gonna take Dual Wielder feat and Thrown Weapon fighting style. I wonder, with those plus Thrown Arms Master I should be able to action surge and throw my weapon bonded battleaxe multiple times, right? But the boomerang bonus seems to be redundant now.
Your character's Bounded battle axe would not return unless you use a bonus action to teleport it back to in your hand because it's not a light weapon. Thrown Arms Master missing with a thrown weapon attack return to them only when attacking with a light weapon, which the battle axe is not.
Thrown Arms Master: Simple and martial melee weapons without the thrown property have the thrown property for you. When you miss with a thrown weapon attack using a light weapon, the weapon returns to your grasp like a boomerang at the end of your turn, unless something prevents it from returning. You can catch and stow as many weapons as you threw in this way.
Weapon Bond: If it is on the same plane of existence, you can summon that weapon as a bonus action on your turn, causing it to teleport instantly to your hand.
Another wrinkle is that the text @Plaguescarred quoted says the weapon only returns at the end of your turn, so multiple attacks would not be possible.
Btw, anyone knows if that is an errata? My physical book does not have that wording (and I haven't gotten the digital book).
I haven't seen any errata since 2021 which i believe was the latest Book Updates released and the Tal'Dorei Campaign Setting wasn't published yet, nor i recall seeing any post production update for it.
Again, your Bounded battle axe could return to your character’s hand immediately after being used to make a ranged attack if it had the Returning Weapon infusion to it, but in order to do so, the Artificier would need to have the Thrown Arms Master feat so the battle axe to have the thrown property for him or her.
No, the property applies to the character not the weapon itself. The weapon would need the thrown property regardless of the character weilding it. Even if the Articifer had thrown weapon master, the thrown weapon property would only apply for them not the world universally.
No, the property applies to the character not the weapon itself. The weapon would need the thrown property regardless of the character weilding it. Even if the Articifer had thrown weapon master, the thrown weapon property would only apply for them not the world universally.
Thrown Weapon Master says that the weapon is considered to have the Thrown property for you. The infusion checks if it has that property which, for you, it does. Obviously the property doesn't apply to the weapon universally, but that doesn't matter, because the feat says it has the property for you, and for you means for the purposes of your attacks and your features.
To take a more obvious example, imagine a feature that lets you do something to a creature that is 20 feet away. If you are within 20 feet of a creature that you want to use the feature on, that creature is not universally 20 feet away, i.e. it is further than 20 feet away from some people and things in the world. Nonetheless, you would be able to use the feature on that creature because it is 20 feet away from you, which is the only point of view that your features really care about (unless otherwise noted in the features).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Its worth noting that Tal'Dorei isn't official content. It's homebrew. Yeah, its on D&D Beyond but its basically just Homebrew with a lot of playtesting behind it.
Ruling wise, I'd allow it. The character is investing quite a bit to do something silly. As long, like in the Great Sword example, someone isn't trying to hit 6 people at once? I'm down.
I agree the Tal'Dorei Campaign Setting is a sourcebook published by Green Ronin and is therefore not considered official Dungeons & Dragons material from WoTC.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Curious if there's been any ruling on this.
The feat lets throw weapons. "Simple and martial weapons without the Thrown property have the Thrown property for You." A further detail of this feat says that light weapons you throw boomerang back to you, provided it isnt met by a circumstance that renders such impossible.
This got me to think about the Returning Weapon infusion available to Artificers. You can apply it to a weapon with the Thrown property and once thrown, hit or miss, it magically is sent back to your hand.
So if the feat says that "weapons without the thrown property, have the thrown property for you", could one, for example, take the feat, take a great sword, and because the great sword has the thrown property "for them", apply the Returning Weapon infusion to the Greatsword, attune to it, and have a chunk of metal they can throw and ensure it comes back?
Not so much a question of practicality, more so, "is this incredibly stupid thing possible."
To my memory no official ruling has been made on this. As written it works as long as the Artificier is
notthe one with the Thrown Arms Master feat it appears.EDIT To strikethrough
What brings you to that conclusion? I would think the opposite: it works only if the Artificer is the one with the feat, since the feat only makes the weapon have the thrown property "for you". An Artificer without the feat wouldn't be able to apply the infusion, but one with the feat would because the weapon would meet the requirement for the infusion, if only for them.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
20/60 for one-handed weapons, 15/30 for two-handed weapons.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
I meant the opposite, for reasons you explained but somewhat wrote ''not'' by mistake.
Does it mean that other bonuses I gain for thrown weapons now apply to other weapons? I am gonna play Eldritch Knight soon, I am gonna take Dual Wielder feat and Thrown Weapon fighting style. I wonder, with those plus Thrown Arms Master I should be able to action surge and throw my weapon bonded battleaxe multiple times, right? But the boomerang bonus seems to be redundant now.
Your character's Bounded battle axe would not return unless you use a bonus action to teleport it back to in your hand because it's not a light weapon. Thrown Arms Master missing with a thrown weapon attack return to them only when attacking with a light weapon, which the battle axe is not.
Another wrinkle is that the text @Plaguescarred quoted says the weapon only returns at the end of your turn, so multiple attacks would not be possible.
Btw, anyone knows if that is an errata? My physical book does not have that wording (and I haven't gotten the digital book).
I haven't seen any errata since 2021 which i believe was the latest Book Updates released and the Tal'Dorei Campaign Setting wasn't published yet, nor i recall seeing any post production update for it.
Again, your Bounded battle axe could return to your character’s hand immediately after being used to make a ranged attack if it had the Returning Weapon infusion to it, but in order to do so, the Artificier would need to have the Thrown Arms Master feat so the battle axe to have the thrown property for him or her.
No, the property applies to the character not the weapon itself. The weapon would need the thrown property regardless of the character weilding it. Even if the Articifer had thrown weapon master, the thrown weapon property would only apply for them not the world universally.
Thrown Weapon Master says that the weapon is considered to have the Thrown property for you. The infusion checks if it has that property which, for you, it does. Obviously the property doesn't apply to the weapon universally, but that doesn't matter, because the feat says it has the property for you, and for you means for the purposes of your attacks and your features.
To take a more obvious example, imagine a feature that lets you do something to a creature that is 20 feet away. If you are within 20 feet of a creature that you want to use the feature on, that creature is not universally 20 feet away, i.e. it is further than 20 feet away from some people and things in the world. Nonetheless, you would be able to use the feature on that creature because it is 20 feet away from you, which is the only point of view that your features really care about (unless otherwise noted in the features).
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Its worth noting that Tal'Dorei isn't official content. It's homebrew. Yeah, its on D&D Beyond but its basically just Homebrew with a lot of playtesting behind it.
Ruling wise, I'd allow it. The character is investing quite a bit to do something silly. As long, like in the Great Sword example, someone isn't trying to hit 6 people at once? I'm down.
I agree the Tal'Dorei Campaign Setting is a sourcebook published by Green Ronin and is therefore not considered official Dungeons & Dragons material from WoTC.