Player has Unseen Servant and uses it a fair bit. In Tomb of Annihilation, in the Kubazan shrine, it was used to retrieve the cube, which set off the poison trap. On the one hand, it has a hit point and an AC and a Strength score, but it's not a creature and doesn't have turns. Does it get a saving throw against the poison gas or does it not take damage at all from anything other than attacks or does it just automatically take damage and die from such an effect?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
Considering it is a "force", and not a creature, I'd assume it does not need breathing or the like, so it could only be affected by attacks.
Ah, well in this specific trap, it actually points out that breathing has no relevance.
The gas fills the shrine for 1 minute, then dissipates. Any creature that starts its turn inside the shrine while the gas is present must succeed on a DC 12 Constitution saving throw or take 10 (3d6) poison damage. Creatures are affected even if they hold their breath or don’t need to breathe.
So sure, it says 'creature', but if the Unseen Servant isn't a creature, then it means it's invulnerable to a lot of effects, not just poisonous clouds that kill on contact.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
Considering it is a "force", and not a creature, I'd assume it does not need breathing or the like, so it could only be affected by attacks.
Ah, well in this specific trap, it actually points out that breathing has no relevance.
The gas fills the shrine for 1 minute, then dissipates. Any creature that starts its turn inside the shrine while the gas is present must succeed on a DC 12 Constitution saving throw or take 10 (3d6) poison damage. Creatures are affected even if they hold their breath or don’t need to breathe.
So sure, it says 'creature', but if the Unseen Servant isn't a creature, then it means it's invulnerable to a lot of effects, not just poisonous clouds that kill on contact.
mmmh... this is quite the conundrum, it seems... I believe (as in most cases) the wording of the spell specifically calling it a force and not a creature is relevant here, but again you are correct in stating that in that case it would not be affected by several effects.
I believe this sage advice entry confirms the fact that it would be immune to A LOT of stuff.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
Unseen Servant's a bit of a gray area since it's not a creature, but the rules don't make it clear whether it's an object, though they somewhat imply it by giving it AC and HP. So personally, until there's an official ruling, I'd treat it as an object. That implies immunity to poison and psychic damage.
In practice you shouldn't have to wonder whether an Unseen Servant makes saving throws any more than you'd wonder whether a box makes saving throws. Spells and effects that use saving throws generally only target creatures, and if they do affect objects, they're handled differently. For example, Shatter and Meteor Swarm have a separate line for objects and just deal full damage, no save. Fireball doesn't damage objects, just ignites them if they're flammable. I haven't read Tomb of Annihilation, but I'd bet money the poison trap only targets creatures.
So sure, it says 'creature', but if the Unseen Servant isn't a creature, then it means it's invulnerable to a lot of effects, not just poisonous clouds that kill on contact.
It is, but so is Mage Hand, which can't be destroyed in any way.
Player has Unseen Servant and uses it a fair bit. In Tomb of Annihilation, in the Kubazan shrine, it was used to retrieve the cube, which set off the poison trap. On the one hand, it has a hit point and an AC and a Strength score, but it's not a creature and doesn't have turns. Does it get a saving throw against the poison gas or does it not take damage at all from anything other than attacks or does it just automatically take damage and die from such an effect?
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
― Oscar Wilde.
Considering it is a "force", and not a creature, I'd assume it does not need breathing or the like, so it could only be affected by attacks.
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
Ah, well in this specific trap, it actually points out that breathing has no relevance.
So sure, it says 'creature', but if the Unseen Servant isn't a creature, then it means it's invulnerable to a lot of effects, not just poisonous clouds that kill on contact.
"Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else's opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation."
― Oscar Wilde.
mmmh... this is quite the conundrum, it seems... I believe (as in most cases) the wording of the spell specifically calling it a force and not a creature is relevant here, but again you are correct in stating that in that case it would not be affected by several effects.
I believe this sage advice entry confirms the fact that it would be immune to A LOT of stuff.
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
Unseen Servant's a bit of a gray area since it's not a creature, but the rules don't make it clear whether it's an object, though they somewhat imply it by giving it AC and HP. So personally, until there's an official ruling, I'd treat it as an object. That implies immunity to poison and psychic damage.
In practice you shouldn't have to wonder whether an Unseen Servant makes saving throws any more than you'd wonder whether a box makes saving throws. Spells and effects that use saving throws generally only target creatures, and if they do affect objects, they're handled differently. For example, Shatter and Meteor Swarm have a separate line for objects and just deal full damage, no save. Fireball doesn't damage objects, just ignites them if they're flammable. I haven't read Tomb of Annihilation, but I'd bet money the poison trap only targets creatures.
EDIT:
It is, but so is Mage Hand, which can't be destroyed in any way.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
The spell specifies that a creature must make a saving throw; an Unseen Servant is not a creature.