This is going to be a silly question, but I'm curious about what the actual RAW duration for the ability is. The entry states that "After 1 hour, or until you lose concentration (as if concentrating on a spell)..." so does this mean:
that it lasts for an hour or until you lose concentration, whichever happens later? (i.e. potentially stay in the changed state for a day)
that it lasts for an hour or until you lose concentration, whichever happens sooner? (i.e. maximum of 1 hour)
I only ask because spell durations involving concentration are written "Concentration, up to X time" which clearly states #2 is correct (and what I'm leaning towards based on the "as if concentrating on a spell" portion of the Minor Alchemy entry. Since the entry doesn't state the "up to 1 hour", it could be interpreted as #1.
RAI: You treat it as if concentrating on a spell. When you stop concentrating it ends, however you can only concentrate on it for an hour.
You could argue that semantically it could be either, but that would be really working against the intent of the wording as it conflicts with every other form of concentration.
It's a little ambiguous because it's appropriating a rule (Concentration) in a roundabout way, but I believe the intent is to read as "Concentration, up to one hour".
This is going to be a silly question, but I'm curious about what the actual RAW duration for the ability is. The entry states that "After 1 hour, or until you lose concentration (as if concentrating on a spell)..." so does this mean:
I only ask because spell durations involving concentration are written "Concentration, up to X time" which clearly states #2 is correct (and what I'm leaning towards based on the "as if concentrating on a spell" portion of the Minor Alchemy entry. Since the entry doesn't state the "up to 1 hour", it could be interpreted as #1.
RAI: You treat it as if concentrating on a spell. When you stop concentrating it ends, however you can only concentrate on it for an hour.
You could argue that semantically it could be either, but that would be really working against the intent of the wording as it conflicts with every other form of concentration.
I'll agree with Thain.
It's a little ambiguous because it's appropriating a rule (Concentration) in a roundabout way, but I believe the intent is to read as "Concentration, up to one hour".
I figured as much myself, just had to ask. Going to make crafting that Damascus Oak Sword a lot more time consuming.