Say you have advantage on a d20 test and fail with both rolls. If you have Heroic Inspiration, then you can expend it to reroll once and must use the new roll. What if you have a means to give yourself advantage on a roll (e.g., Tides of Chaos)? Can that be applied to give you advantage on the Heroic Inspiration reroll?
It's not possible to use Advantage (EDIT: or Disadvantage) in the Heroic Inspiration reroll:
For example, if you have Heroic Inspiration (see the sidebar) and roll a 3 and an 18 on an ability check that has Advantage or Disadvantage, you could expend your Heroic Inspiration to reroll one of those dice, not both of them.
If you have Heroic Inspiration, you can expend it to reroll any die immediately after rolling it, and you must use the new roll.
That's the question: whether advantage can be applied to a heroic inspiration reroll. Both excerpts you provide highlight the "one reroll." But it's unclear to me whether advantage can be applied to that reroll (which I understand is still a roll for d20 test).
That's the question: whether advantage can be applied to a heroic inspiration reroll. Both excerpts you provide highlight the "one reroll." But it's unclear to me whether advantage can be applied to that reroll (which I understand is still a roll for d20 test).
You are re-rolling one die, not making a brand new D20 test and thus you only get to re-roll that one die.
Say you have advantage on a d20 test and fail with both rolls. If you have Heroic Inspiration, then you can expend it to reroll once and must use the new roll. What if you have a means to give yourself advantage on a roll (e.g., Tides of Chaos)? Can that be applied to give you advantage on the Heroic Inspiration reroll?
No, I wouldn’t allow that because, HI is used to replace 1 failed roll. It’s not a total do over. Also in my opinion it would make HI way over powered. Not something I would do or would allow. Also RAW “reroll 1 failed d20 test”, not reverse time and total do over.
It's worth pointing out that the "reroll one die" limitation also applies to things like damage rolls. For instance if you cast Shatter, which does 3d8 damage, and get a 1, a 1, and an 8, you can use Heroic Inspiration to reroll one of those 1s, but not both of them.
What if you have advantage, say roll a 14 and 8. You decide to use HI to reroll the 8 and get a 1. Do you have to take the 1?
No, re-rolls from Heroic Inspiration are done before success/failure is determined. So first you had 14/8 to choose from but after the re-roll you instead have 14/1 to choose from but you still pick the highest and that would be the 14 in both cases.
Exactly. That's what the rule says (green text added by me):
For example, if you have Heroic Inspiration (see the sidebar) and roll a 314 and 188 on an ability check that has Advantage or Disadvantage, you could expend your Heroic Inspiration to reroll one of those dice (e.g., reroll the 8 and get a 1), not both of them.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Say you have advantage on a d20 test and fail with both rolls. If you have Heroic Inspiration, then you can expend it to reroll once and must use the new roll. What if you have a means to give yourself advantage on a roll (e.g., Tides of Chaos)? Can that be applied to give you advantage on the Heroic Inspiration reroll?
It's not possible to use Advantage (EDIT: or Disadvantage) in the Heroic Inspiration reroll:
That's the question: whether advantage can be applied to a heroic inspiration reroll. Both excerpts you provide highlight the "one reroll." But it's unclear to me whether advantage can be applied to that reroll (which I understand is still a roll for d20 test).
You are re-rolling one die, not making a brand new D20 test and thus you only get to re-roll that one die.
No, I wouldn’t allow that because, HI is used to replace 1 failed roll. It’s not a total do over. Also in my opinion it would make HI way over powered. Not something I would do or would allow. Also RAW “reroll 1 failed d20 test”, not reverse time and total do over.
Thanks for your answers!
It's worth pointing out that the "reroll one die" limitation also applies to things like damage rolls. For instance if you cast Shatter, which does 3d8 damage, and get a 1, a 1, and an 8, you can use Heroic Inspiration to reroll one of those 1s, but not both of them.
pronouns: he/she/they
What if you have advantage, say roll a 14 and 8. You decide to use HI to reroll the 8 and get a 1. Do you have to take the 1?
No, re-rolls from Heroic Inspiration are done before success/failure is determined. So first you had 14/8 to choose from but after the re-roll you instead have 14/1 to choose from but you still pick the highest and that would be the 14 in both cases.
Exactly. That's what the rule says (green text added by me):