I am in need of some assistance interpreting the Push Weapon Mastery. We are split in the group on how it should work.
Push: "If you hit a creature with this weapon, you can push the creature 10 feet straight away from yourself if it is Large or smaller."
The character utilizing this is using a Pike with its reach. He and another interpret the ruling that it is a ten foot push from where the creature starts. I (DM) interpret this to mean the creature is pushed up to ten feet from the player, so where the player starts. I realize we're only talking about a difference of five feet, but that matters in a game measured by five feet.
P= Player / - =5-foot square / T= Target
Player interpretation:
Before attack: P - T // After attack with push: P - - - T
My interpretation:
Before attack: P - T // After attack with push: P - - T
Thoughts and perspectives on the two above interpretations are appreciated!!
Considering the wording on push mastery matches the wording on repelling blast, I would say that "up to 10 feet straight away from you" really does mean from their initial position, no matter how many feet are between you and that creature to start.
That is to say, you can push them 10 feet in a direction that is away from you, and not a total of 10 feet away from your location.
Hello!
I am in need of some assistance interpreting the Push Weapon Mastery. We are split in the group on how it should work.
Push: "If you hit a creature with this weapon, you can push the creature 10 feet straight away from yourself if it is Large or smaller."
The character utilizing this is using a Pike with its reach. He and another interpret the ruling that it is a ten foot push from where the creature starts. I (DM) interpret this to mean the creature is pushed up to ten feet from the player, so where the player starts. I realize we're only talking about a difference of five feet, but that matters in a game measured by five feet.
P= Player / - =5-foot square / T= Target
Player interpretation:
Before attack: P - T // After attack with push: P - - - T
My interpretation:
Before attack: P - T // After attack with push: P - - T
Thoughts and perspectives on the two above interpretations are appreciated!!
Thank you!
Considering the wording on push mastery matches the wording on repelling blast, I would say that "up to 10 feet straight away from you" really does mean from their initial position, no matter how many feet are between you and that creature to start.
That is to say, you can push them 10 feet in a direction that is away from you, and not a total of 10 feet away from your location.
Thank you! You are the second source referencing repelling blast, so that's the ruling I'll move forward with.