Using the Crossbow Expert feat, is it possible to wield two hand crossbows? If so, is it possible to reload them during the attacks made with the action and bonus action granted by the feat?
In the feat’s description, it says that if I’m holding a hand crossbow, I can load a piece of ammunition. But what if I’m wielding two hand crossbows? That raised a question for me regarding the interpretation of the rules.
The Crossbow Expert feat allows you to fire a Hand Crossbow multiple times on your turn. But you still must abide by the rules of the Hand Crossbow’s Light property, which state that the property’s additional attack must be made with a different weapon.
EDIT: I recall a couple of threads commenting on the 2024 feat (and some discussion about Equipping or Unequipping crossbows):
Since Crossbow Expert let you ignore their Loading property and load a piece of ammunition into a Hand Crossbow even if you lack a free hand, it means you can wield two.
Using the Crossbow Expert feat, is it possible to wield two hand crossbows? If so, is it possible to reload them during the attacks made with the action and bonus action granted by the feat?
In the feat’s description, it says that if I’m holding a hand crossbow, I can load a piece of ammunition. But what if I’m wielding two hand crossbows? That raised a question for me regarding the interpretation of the rules.
Yes, if you're wielding two Hand Crossbows, you can do that thanks to the Light property and the feat. This answer is from the SAC:
EDIT: I recall a couple of threads commenting on the 2024 feat (and some discussion about Equipping or Unequipping crossbows):
Since Crossbow Expert let you ignore their Loading property and load a piece of ammunition into a Hand Crossbow even if you lack a free hand, it means you can wield two.
Thanks guys!!!