What happens if a creature is possessed by a ghost and another creature then true polymorphs the possessed target into an object. What happens then with the ghost? is it stuck? or can it still leave?
Also, what happens to a creature that is possessed and then get's targeted by the magic jar spell?
I don't really think there are any rules for it so I would like to know your opinions.
Based on the 2024 Ghost stat block and how it says the possession ability works, I don't think the possessed creature being polymorphed (either into a creature or an object) has any effect on the possession. There's nothing there to suggest that the ghost couldn't end the possession.
Unfortunately, I don't think the rules have any specific guidance on what happens if there's an attempt to possess a creature that's already possessed by someone else (as would happen if someone under the effect of Magic Jar tried to possess someone who's already possessed by a ghost, or vice versa). My first instinct would be to have the creature who's already possessing the target roll the saving throw against the second possession effect, and if they fail, they get booted and the new possession takes effect.
I can agree on both points, With the magic jar thing however I think with the magic jar thing it is to ambiguous to make a ruling, but I think that what you are suggesting is a pretty good way of ruling it.
A target possessed by a Ghost that would shape-shift via Polymorph would see such ongoing effect on it carry over from one form to the other.
A target possessed by a Ghost loses control of its body who now controls it, so if it was also possessed via Magic Jar , the rules don't cover what happen in such case and it would be up to DM to make a ruling one way or another. I'd probably require a Charisma contest between them as they fight for control or rule that only one possession at a time can exist.
I might just dodge the question and rule the magic jar spell fails. There’s not a lot of cases of soul swapping in the rules, but they get kind of wonky. I’d be hesitant to add another layer of wonkiness into the mix.
In the case of magic jar, I would rule that regardless of what other personality leaves or enters the posessed creature, the ghost remains in control of it until the ghost chooses to leave, or the conditions specified in their stat block say otherwise.
If a ghost posesses person A, then person B casts Magic Jar. Person B's soul goes into the container, if it then tries to swap into the body of person A, person A's sould goes into the container and person B's soul goes into the posessed body of person A. Either way, the ghost is still posessing the body of Person A.
The ghost's stat block specifically states that while posessing a body, the ghost itself can't be targeted by a spell unless it is one that "specifically" targets undead.
The stat block sets out the only conditions that return control of the body.
So... magic jar might swap souls of the posessed body, but the body remains posessed by the ghost who remains in control of it. As for true polymorph, again, the ghost determines when it leaves or the body has to be reduced to zero hp, etc.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Playing D&D since 1982
Have played every version of the game since Basic (original Red Box Set), except that abomination sometimes called 4e.
I'm not sure how much of a can of worms this might create, but if you consider the original host (soul) of a body to be possessing that body then you could reason that the latest "possession" is the one that takes effect.
Also, what happens to a creature that is possessed and then get's targeted by the magic jar spell?
Hmmmmmmmmmmmm
When a ghost possesses a target, the target's soul remains in its body, but can't do anything but be a passenger
When a soul in a magic jar possesses a target, it's swapping places with the target's soul. Which is still there, in the case of ghost possession
So for me, Magic Jar would work as normal... and if the possessed target fails its saving throw, its soul goes from being trapped in its own body to trapped in the Magic Jar. At that point, I'd do some sort of contested CHA check between the Magic Jar soul and the Ghost -- if the Ghost wins it keeps control and the MJ soul becomes trapped, and if the MJ soul wins, the Ghost gets booted out. The MJ soul, per the spell, would still be able to take a Magic action to swap back if it didn't win the contested check
Edoumiaond Willegume "Eddie" Podslee, Vegetanian scholar (College of Spirits bard) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator (Assassin rogue) Peter "the Pied Piper" Hausler, human con artist/remover of vermin (Circle of the Shepherd druid) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Magic Jar and Possession are both effects that allow one creature to possess a Humanoid entity. I would rule that Combining Spell Effects applies and the last possession ends any prior possession (whether from a Ghost or Magic Jar). This undoubtably applies when a Ghost tries to possess a Humanoid possessed by a Ghost or a using Magic Jar on a Humanoid possessed via Magic Jar. I think the same principle should apply when the Ghost and Magic Jar possession overlap.
For polymorph it's entirely straightforward, the ghost can choose to remain possessing the creature or choose to leave. Ghosts can move through solid objects so in no way would turning a possessed creature into an object hinder a ghost at all.
For magic jar it's not at clear but also not that complicated:
Magic Jar allows you to possess 1 humanoid, a ghost is an undead not a humanoid, therefore magic jar cannot possess the ghost and cannot force the ghost into the jar. So the ghost remains in control. The only question is whether Magic Jar fails entirely, or if the jar-attacker can still successfully swap places with the possessed being. I'd suggest the latter, the possessed creature makes the CHA save and can be forced into the Magic Jar but jar-attacker is still possessed by the ghost.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
What happens if a creature is possessed by a ghost and another creature then true polymorphs the possessed target into an object. What happens then with the ghost? is it stuck? or can it still leave?
Also, what happens to a creature that is possessed and then get's targeted by the magic jar spell?
I don't really think there are any rules for it so I would like to know your opinions.
Based on the 2024 Ghost stat block and how it says the possession ability works, I don't think the possessed creature being polymorphed (either into a creature or an object) has any effect on the possession. There's nothing there to suggest that the ghost couldn't end the possession.
Unfortunately, I don't think the rules have any specific guidance on what happens if there's an attempt to possess a creature that's already possessed by someone else (as would happen if someone under the effect of Magic Jar tried to possess someone who's already possessed by a ghost, or vice versa). My first instinct would be to have the creature who's already possessing the target roll the saving throw against the second possession effect, and if they fail, they get booted and the new possession takes effect.
pronouns: he/she/they
I can agree on both points, With the magic jar thing however I think with the magic jar thing it is to ambiguous to make a ruling, but I think that what you are suggesting is a pretty good way of ruling it.
A target possessed by a Ghost that would shape-shift via Polymorph would see such ongoing effect on it carry over from one form to the other.
A target possessed by a Ghost loses control of its body who now controls it, so if it was also possessed via Magic Jar , the rules don't cover what happen in such case and it would be up to DM to make a ruling one way or another. I'd probably require a Charisma contest between them as they fight for control or rule that only one possession at a time can exist.
I might just dodge the question and rule the magic jar spell fails. There’s not a lot of cases of soul swapping in the rules, but they get kind of wonky. I’d be hesitant to add another layer of wonkiness into the mix.
In the case of magic jar, I would rule that regardless of what other personality leaves or enters the posessed creature, the ghost remains in control of it until the ghost chooses to leave, or the conditions specified in their stat block say otherwise.
If a ghost posesses person A, then person B casts Magic Jar. Person B's soul goes into the container, if it then tries to swap into the body of person A, person A's sould goes into the container and person B's soul goes into the posessed body of person A. Either way, the ghost is still posessing the body of Person A.
The ghost's stat block specifically states that while posessing a body, the ghost itself can't be targeted by a spell unless it is one that "specifically" targets undead.
The stat block sets out the only conditions that return control of the body.
So... magic jar might swap souls of the posessed body, but the body remains posessed by the ghost who remains in control of it. As for true polymorph, again, the ghost determines when it leaves or the body has to be reduced to zero hp, etc.
Playing D&D since 1982
Have played every version of the game since Basic (original Red Box Set), except that abomination sometimes called 4e.
A fight for control of the character reminds me and my brother fighting for the Nintendo remote control as kid :)
I'm not sure how much of a can of worms this might create, but if you consider the original host (soul) of a body to be possessing that body then you could reason that the latest "possession" is the one that takes effect.
Hmmmmmmmmmmmm
When a ghost possesses a target, the target's soul remains in its body, but can't do anything but be a passenger
When a soul in a magic jar possesses a target, it's swapping places with the target's soul. Which is still there, in the case of ghost possession
So for me, Magic Jar would work as normal... and if the possessed target fails its saving throw, its soul goes from being trapped in its own body to trapped in the Magic Jar. At that point, I'd do some sort of contested CHA check between the Magic Jar soul and the Ghost -- if the Ghost wins it keeps control and the MJ soul becomes trapped, and if the MJ soul wins, the Ghost gets booted out. The MJ soul, per the spell, would still be able to take a Magic action to swap back if it didn't win the contested check
Active characters:
Edoumiaond Willegume "Eddie" Podslee, Vegetanian scholar (College of Spirits bard)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator (Assassin rogue)
Peter "the Pied Piper" Hausler, human con artist/remover of vermin (Circle of the Shepherd druid)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Magic Jar and Possession are both effects that allow one creature to possess a Humanoid entity. I would rule that Combining Spell Effects applies and the last possession ends any prior possession (whether from a Ghost or Magic Jar). This undoubtably applies when a Ghost tries to possess a Humanoid possessed by a Ghost or a using Magic Jar on a Humanoid possessed via Magic Jar. I think the same principle should apply when the Ghost and Magic Jar possession overlap.
How to add Tooltips.
My houserulings.
For polymorph it's entirely straightforward, the ghost can choose to remain possessing the creature or choose to leave. Ghosts can move through solid objects so in no way would turning a possessed creature into an object hinder a ghost at all.
For magic jar it's not at clear but also not that complicated:
Magic Jar allows you to possess 1 humanoid, a ghost is an undead not a humanoid, therefore magic jar cannot possess the ghost and cannot force the ghost into the jar. So the ghost remains in control. The only question is whether Magic Jar fails entirely, or if the jar-attacker can still successfully swap places with the possessed being. I'd suggest the latter, the possessed creature makes the CHA save and can be forced into the Magic Jar but jar-attacker is still possessed by the ghost.