Is a sentient construct, in this case a Nimblewright that my wizard PC has acquired as a bodyguard, able to attune to and use magic items. I understand that there will be some limitations…for example, the Nimblewright cannot speak, despite having an 8 INT. Thoughts?
Any creature can attune to magic items, as long as they meet any prerequisites listed in the item description.
That said, a DM could reasonably rule that a creature with a low enough Intelligence might not understand what the item is or how attunement works, but in my opinion 8 is nowhere near low enough to start talking about that.
There could be things beyond mere Intelligence that prevents a construct from attuning to magic items (e.g., they lack enough 'soul'), but unless you want to prevent Autognomes and Warforged from doing it, merely being a Construct shouldn't be a deal breaker.
On the other hand, if I have some character is creating suits of Animated Armor so they can get around the Attunement limit, I would probably shoot that down with a houserule, even though Animated Armor doesn't have anything that specifically says they can't do it.
There could be things beyond mere Intelligence that prevents a construct from attuning to magic items (e.g., they lack enough 'soul'), but unless you want to prevent Autognomes and Warforged from doing it, merely being a Construct shouldn't be a deal breaker.
On the other hand, if I have some character is creating suits of Animated Armor so they can get around the Attunement limit, I would probably shoot that down with a houserule, even though Animated Armor doesn't have anything that specifically says they can't do it.
Warforged are not Constructs, but in general I agree; preventing a playable species from attuning to any magic items would throw a lot of balance stuff out of whack.
If I recall correctly DDAL has a rule that when a summoned creature (or something along those lines) attunes to a magic item, it takes up one of the summoner's attunement slots. That seems like a pretty fair way to prevent abuse of this kind of thing.
There could be things beyond mere Intelligence that prevents a construct from attuning to magic items (e.g., they lack enough 'soul'), but unless you want to prevent Autognomes and Warforged from doing it, merely being a Construct shouldn't be a deal breaker.
On the other hand, if I have some character is creating suits of Animated Armor so they can get around the Attunement limit, I would probably shoot that down with a houserule, even though Animated Armor doesn't have anything that specifically says they can't do it.
Is a sentient construct, in this case a Nimblewright that my wizard PC has acquired as a bodyguard, able to attune to and use magic items. I understand that there will be some limitations…for example, the Nimblewright cannot speak, despite having an 8 INT. Thoughts?
Any creature can attune to magic items, as long as they meet any prerequisites listed in the item description.
That said, a DM could reasonably rule that a creature with a low enough Intelligence might not understand what the item is or how attunement works, but in my opinion 8 is nowhere near low enough to start talking about that.
pronouns: he/she/they
There could be things beyond mere Intelligence that prevents a construct from attuning to magic items (e.g., they lack enough 'soul'), but unless you want to prevent Autognomes and Warforged from doing it, merely being a Construct shouldn't be a deal breaker.
On the other hand, if I have some character is creating suits of Animated Armor so they can get around the Attunement limit, I would probably shoot that down with a houserule, even though Animated Armor doesn't have anything that specifically says they can't do it.
Warforged are not Constructs, but in general I agree; preventing a playable species from attuning to any magic items would throw a lot of balance stuff out of whack.
If I recall correctly DDAL has a rule that when a summoned creature (or something along those lines) attunes to a magic item, it takes up one of the summoner's attunement slots. That seems like a pretty fair way to prevent abuse of this kind of thing.
pronouns: he/she/they
You're not alone in that :) In 2024 game version can a creature from spell like animate dead attune to magic item