The section of the rules on Attunement just refers to "a creature", so I think under a strict reading of the rules any creature can generally attune to a magic item, provided they satisfy any restrictions on attunement for that item (e.g. "requires attunement by a Druid").
You do have to take a Short Rest to attune to a magic item. Creatures that can't take Short Rests for whatever reason (e.g., if they're a 2024 Simulacrum) would not be able to attune to magic items.
Aside from items with specific attunement requirements, there is no general rule for or against it. It is up to your DM for each specific creature.
For an animated zombie, I'd say no. Not only do they have very little intelligence, but they have almost no autonomy to speak of. For a skeleton, which is at least smart enough to use weapons, I'd say maybe.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat On - Mod Hat Off
I’d be very leery of a player asking about this, because it seems like the setup to some cheesy exploit someone made a YouTube video about. The point of attunement is to limit how many magic items a party can have in play at a time and Animate Dead alone can swamp the board if the DM lets a player build up some steam with that. Adding magic items on top seems like it’d up the headache factor by an order of magnitude.
If nothing else, I strongly recommend asking them what magic items they want the creature to attune to so you know what’s being added to the board before you give an okay.
If I recall correctly, DDAL has a house rule that a companion/summoned creature/animated thing/etc. can attune to a magic item, but that this uses up one of its creator's attunement slots. I have not personally played with this rule in place, but it seems like a reasonable way to allow some fun tactics while keeping a lid on things and not letting it get out of hand.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
As a title said is it have a rules that specific or clarify about familiar or summoning spell creature to attune to magic item ?
The section of the rules on Attunement just refers to "a creature", so I think under a strict reading of the rules any creature can generally attune to a magic item, provided they satisfy any restrictions on attunement for that item (e.g. "requires attunement by a Druid").
You do have to take a Short Rest to attune to a magic item. Creatures that can't take Short Rests for whatever reason (e.g., if they're a 2024 Simulacrum) would not be able to attune to magic items.
pronouns: he/she/they
Aside from items with specific attunement requirements, there is no general rule for or against it. It is up to your DM for each specific creature.
For an animated zombie, I'd say no. Not only do they have very little intelligence, but they have almost no autonomy to speak of. For a skeleton, which is at least smart enough to use weapons, I'd say maybe.
Homebrew Rules || Homebrew FAQ || Snippet Codes || Tooltips
DDB Guides & FAQs, Class Guides, Character Builds, Game Guides, Useful Websites, and WOTC Resources
I’d be very leery of a player asking about this, because it seems like the setup to some cheesy exploit someone made a YouTube video about. The point of attunement is to limit how many magic items a party can have in play at a time and Animate Dead alone can swamp the board if the DM lets a player build up some steam with that. Adding magic items on top seems like it’d up the headache factor by an order of magnitude.
In my case the spell that player want to use is Create magen but it a exclusive to Rime of frost maiden so i use Animate dead as an example
If nothing else, I strongly recommend asking them what magic items they want the creature to attune to so you know what’s being added to the board before you give an okay.
If I recall correctly, DDAL has a house rule that a companion/summoned creature/animated thing/etc. can attune to a magic item, but that this uses up one of its creator's attunement slots. I have not personally played with this rule in place, but it seems like a reasonable way to allow some fun tactics while keeping a lid on things and not letting it get out of hand.
pronouns: he/she/they