With Blink you go into the etheral plane and then for 1 minute at the start of your turn you go back to the original plane and then at the end back to the etheral plane. is there anyway I could drop a jar effectively into the etheral plane since dropping is usually a free action and since turns are 6 seconds id be there for at least that time. is that doable?
I don't see any reason this wouldn't work. The spell doesn't say any objects you're wearing or carrying reappear with you if they're no longer being worn or carried. I'd assume such items thus follow the normal rules for being unattended items and stay where they are until disturbed by an outside force.
I don't see any reason this wouldn't work. The spell doesn't say any objects you're wearing or carrying reappear with you if they're no longer being worn or carried. I'd assume such items thus follow the normal rules for being unattended items and stay where they are until disturbed by an outside force.
Well, the problem is that with Blink you are only in the Ethereal Plane when it's not your turn. You go there at the end of your turn and return at the start of your next turn. Generally even a "free action" has to be done on your turn, I would think.
However, I think it would work if you used the Ready action to set up a trigger to do it with your Reaction when you appear in the Ethereal Plane. That's using a second action (the first being casting Blink) and a Reaction, but I assume dropping this particular jar is important enough for that to be worth it.
If they weren't in combat at the time I think it'd definitely be fine to just hand-wave it.
[...] On the opponent turn a goblin hits you. Are you allowed to sheath or drop your weapon out of turn and cast Shield as a reaction? You won't have another reaction left for an opportunity attack anyway. [...]
Not sure if SmiteMakesRight_3_5 wanted to answer this part, or even if everyone agrees with me, but the way I interpret the rules, I think the intent for object interaction is to happen on your turn, so it wouldn't be allowed on another creature's turn, for example with the Reaction you described.
Your Turn
On your turn, you can move a distance up to your Speed and take one action. You decide whether to move first or take your action first. [...]
Interacting with Things.You can interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe.
And:
Time-Limited Object Interactions
When time is short, such as in combat, interactions with objects are limited: one free interaction per turn. That interaction must occurduring a creature’s movement or action. Any additional interactions require the Utilize action, as explained in “Combat” later in this chapter.
However I'd say it's fine if you use your turn to take the Ready Action and consume your Reaction off-turn to recover at least your dropped weapon.
"While on the Ethereal Plane, you can perceive the plane you left, which is cast in shades of gray, but you can’t see anything there more than 60 feet away. You can affect and be affected only by other creatures on the Ethereal Plane, "
A strict reading of the Blink spell might suggest you cant do object interactions in the ethereal plane
"While on the Ethereal Plane, you can perceive the plane you left, which is cast in shades of gray, but you can’t see anything there more than 60 feet away. You can affect and be affected only by other creatures on the Ethereal Plane, "
A strict reading of the Blink spell might suggest you cant do object interactions in the ethereal plane
But eh.
Nothing about that gives you the ability to do things when it isn’t your turn.
I was reading "You can affect and be affected only by other creatures on the Ethereal Plane, " to mean you cant ready action and drop an object in the ethereap plane on your reaction.
I was reading "You can affect and be affected only by other creatures on the Ethereal Plane, " to mean you cant ready action and drop an object in the ethereap plane on your reaction.
You're a creature on the Ethereal Plane in that moment.
Why do you want to drop a jar? I feel as if this a test and the original poster wants to do something sinister under a guise of something innocent.
Off the top of my head, it could contain something important to an NPC. Since there's no sign of Blink being used after the fact, assuming you keep your feet in place, there would be zero trace of where the item was hidden unless you can see into the Ethereal Plane.
I understand that, its just that a strict reading of " "You can affect and be affected only by other creatures on the Ethereal Plane, " as saying that literally the only thing you can do there is interact with creatures or be attacked by creatures there. That would rule out object interaction to drop the jar. And move. It does say you can move.
I believe they say that to remind that while you see creatures on the plane you left, you can't affect them and vice versa, you can only afefct creatures in the Ethereal Plane.
I think it's a reasonable trigger Reaction while Ready the Utilize action; ''When i get on the Ethereal Place, i put the jar down''.
There's likely nothing more nefarious going on here than having a need in-game to remove something from accessibility to somebody else, and Blink seems like the best tool available.
(I agree that readying an action is the way to go, and is legit. I could see a DM ruling that the object blinks in when you do, but frankly that seems like driving the desired plot and overriding the players' cleverness.)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
With Blink you go into the etheral plane and then for 1 minute at the start of your turn you go back to the original plane and then at the end back to the etheral plane. is there anyway I could drop a jar effectively into the etheral plane since dropping is usually a free action and since turns are 6 seconds id be there for at least that time. is that doable?
I don't see any reason this wouldn't work. The spell doesn't say any objects you're wearing or carrying reappear with you if they're no longer being worn or carried. I'd assume such items thus follow the normal rules for being unattended items and stay where they are until disturbed by an outside force.
Well, the problem is that with Blink you are only in the Ethereal Plane when it's not your turn. You go there at the end of your turn and return at the start of your next turn. Generally even a "free action" has to be done on your turn, I would think.
However, I think it would work if you used the Ready action to set up a trigger to do it with your Reaction when you appear in the Ethereal Plane. That's using a second action (the first being casting Blink) and a Reaction, but I assume dropping this particular jar is important enough for that to be worth it.
If they weren't in combat at the time I think it'd definitely be fine to just hand-wave it.
pronouns: he/she/they
I'm with wagnarokkr you would need to Ready the Utilize action since you're only in the Ethereal Plane off turn and Time-Limited Object Interactions is only during your turn where you're Interacting with Things while doing something else during your move or action.
That's my understanding as well. I'll reuse a response I wrote related to this:
"While on the Ethereal Plane, you can perceive the plane you left, which is cast in shades of gray, but you can’t see anything there more than 60 feet away. You can affect and be affected only by other creatures on the Ethereal Plane, "
A strict reading of the Blink spell might suggest you cant do object interactions in the ethereal plane
But eh.
Nothing about that gives you the ability to do things when it isn’t your turn.
pronouns: he/she/they
I was reading "You can affect and be affected only by other creatures on the Ethereal Plane, " to mean you cant ready action and drop an object in the ethereap plane on your reaction.
You're a creature on the Ethereal Plane in that moment.
Why do you want to drop a jar? I feel as if this a test and the original poster wants to do something sinister under a guise of something innocent.
Off the top of my head, it could contain something important to an NPC. Since there's no sign of Blink being used after the fact, assuming you keep your feet in place, there would be zero trace of where the item was hidden unless you can see into the Ethereal Plane.
I understand that, its just that a strict reading of " "You can affect and be affected only by other creatures on the Ethereal Plane, " as saying that literally the only thing you can do there is interact with creatures or be attacked by creatures there. That would rule out object interaction to drop the jar. And move. It does say you can move.
I believe they say that to remind that while you see creatures on the plane you left, you can't affect them and vice versa, you can only afefct creatures in the Ethereal Plane.
I think it's a reasonable trigger Reaction while Ready the Utilize action; ''When i get on the Ethereal Place, i put the jar down''.
Some days you can't get rid of a bomb...
There's likely nothing more nefarious going on here than having a need in-game to remove something from accessibility to somebody else, and Blink seems like the best tool available.
(I agree that readying an action is the way to go, and is legit. I could see a DM ruling that the object blinks in when you do, but frankly that seems like driving the desired plot and overriding the players' cleverness.)