With Blink you go into the etheral plane and then for 1 minute at the start of your turn you go back to the original plane and then at the end back to the etheral plane. is there anyway I could drop a jar effectively into the etheral plane since dropping is usually a free action and since turns are 6 seconds id be there for at least that time. is that doable?
I don't see any reason this wouldn't work. The spell doesn't say any objects you're wearing or carrying reappear with you if they're no longer being worn or carried. I'd assume such items thus follow the normal rules for being unattended items and stay where they are until disturbed by an outside force.
I don't see any reason this wouldn't work. The spell doesn't say any objects you're wearing or carrying reappear with you if they're no longer being worn or carried. I'd assume such items thus follow the normal rules for being unattended items and stay where they are until disturbed by an outside force.
Well, the problem is that with Blink you are only in the Ethereal Plane when it's not your turn. You go there at the end of your turn and return at the start of your next turn. Generally even a "free action" has to be done on your turn, I would think.
However, I think it would work if you used the Ready action to set up a trigger to do it with your Reaction when you appear in the Ethereal Plane. That's using a second action (the first being casting Blink) and a Reaction, but I assume dropping this particular jar is important enough for that to be worth it.
If they weren't in combat at the time I think it'd definitely be fine to just hand-wave it.
With Blink you go into the etheral plane and then for 1 minute at the start of your turn you go back to the original plane and then at the end back to the etheral plane. is there anyway I could drop a jar effectively into the etheral plane since dropping is usually a free action and since turns are 6 seconds id be there for at least that time. is that doable?
I don't see any reason this wouldn't work. The spell doesn't say any objects you're wearing or carrying reappear with you if they're no longer being worn or carried. I'd assume such items thus follow the normal rules for being unattended items and stay where they are until disturbed by an outside force.
Well, the problem is that with Blink you are only in the Ethereal Plane when it's not your turn. You go there at the end of your turn and return at the start of your next turn. Generally even a "free action" has to be done on your turn, I would think.
However, I think it would work if you used the Ready action to set up a trigger to do it with your Reaction when you appear in the Ethereal Plane. That's using a second action (the first being casting Blink) and a Reaction, but I assume dropping this particular jar is important enough for that to be worth it.
If they weren't in combat at the time I think it'd definitely be fine to just hand-wave it.
pronouns: he/she/they
I'm with wagnarokkr you would need to Ready the Utilize action since you're only in the Ethereal Plane off turn and Time-Limited Object Interactions is only during your turn where you're Interacting with Things while doing something else during your move or action.