Out of curiosity, can spells with the description, target up to x amount of creatures, target the same creature more than once. Say the cleric wants to heal a party member but the spells says to target up to 6 creatures. Can he use all 6 on one if he wants?
Looking at the text of an example like Mass Cure Wounds, you'll see that it says to target up to 6 creatures, meaning that a creature can only be chosen once. Each creature is then a target that receives the amount of healing of the spell. Both with RAW and my interpretation of RAI show that you can't choose the same creature as multiple targets. Hope that helps clarify it!
Yeah, the writers are pretty good about making things clear. If there are certain conditions, they often state that you can target one creature or multiple creatures or "up to" X number of targets.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Out of curiosity, can spells with the description, target up to x amount of creatures, target the same creature more than once. Say the cleric wants to heal a party member but the spells says to target up to 6 creatures. Can he use all 6 on one if he wants?
My rule/understanding: No, because of the nature of the spell it will only heal once per target.
Looking at the text of an example like Mass Cure Wounds, you'll see that it says to target up to 6 creatures, meaning that a creature can only be chosen once. Each creature is then a target that receives the amount of healing of the spell. Both with RAW and my interpretation of RAI show that you can't choose the same creature as multiple targets. Hope that helps clarify it!
AdmiralChry's Homebrew Compendium - A collection of all my classes, subclasses, magic items, and etc.
Yeah, the writers are pretty good about making things clear. If there are certain conditions, they often state that you can target one creature or multiple creatures or "up to" X number of targets.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale