Bracer of Flying Daggers says "As an action, you can pull up to two magic daggers from the bracer and immediately hurl them, making a ranged attack with each dagger." Does this require 2 hands free to use or could you do this with a weapon/shield/focus in your other hand?
As far as I understand it, only one hand is effectively needed, as the Bracer is one single object, not a pair.
It is worth pointing out, though, that you need to have the ability to make more than one attack in your turn if you want to pull and throw both daggers, as the description specifically says you make a ranged attack for each, so you cannot use both daggers unless you have the Extra Attack feature from some other source.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
As far as I understand it, only one hand is effectively needed, as the Bracer is one single object, not a pair.
It is worth pointing out, though, that you need to have the ability to make more than one attack in your turn if you want to pull and throw both daggers, as the description specifically says you make a ranged attack for each, so you cannot use both daggers unless you have the Extra Attack feature from some other source.
I don't think this is the case. You're making a "use magic item" action that allows you make 2 ranged attacks as part of it. Everything is part of "as an action". It's not like magic stone where you make the item and then use an action to throw it. Therefore I think you only need 1 hand free (which needs to be the hand the bracer is not on) and toss both at the same time.
I disagree on needing extra attack. It says that as an action you draw and throw the daggers. You are using the "Use magic item" action, not the "Attack" action, so the number of attacks you can make with the "Attack" action is irrelevant.
Bracer of Flying Daggers says "As an action, you can pull up to two magic daggers from the bracer and immediately hurl them, making a ranged attack with each dagger." Does this require 2 hands free to use or could you do this with a weapon/shield/focus in your other hand?
The official rules don't say anything one way or the other. So, yes, strictly by the rules, you could conceivably be holding onto a shield or other weapon with one hand, and throw with the other. That said, this is absolutely an area where the DM will have final say if its a bit too strange, and might make a call that you need to use both hands, as there's nothing to say this only requires one hand to use.
In short - "Ask your DM, because the book neither confirms nor denies."
As far as I understand it, only one hand is effectively needed, as the Bracer is one single object, not a pair.
It is worth pointing out, though, that you need to have the ability to make more than one attack in your turn if you want to pull and throw both daggers, as the description specifically says you make a ranged attack for each, so you cannot use both daggers unless you have the Extra Attack feature from some other source.
Agreed with Full Metal Bunny here. Its not an Attack action - you are making two attacks as part of activating the magic item. This is much like using the Booming Blade or Green Fire Blade cantrips. You're casting a spell (or using a magic device) as your action, and as part of the activation, you're making an attack. There is a difference between the Attack Action and making actual attacks, as strange as it sounds.
So, that means a Rogue will be able to throw two daggers for their turn, and apply sneak attack damage to one of them; furthermore, because this is not using the Two Weapon Fighting rules, you deal 1d4+Strength/Dexterity full damage with each knife thrown, and you'll still have your bonus action to use Cunning Action with. That said, a Monk will be unable to use their Martial Arts bonus action attack (or Flurry of Blows) with the Bracer, nor will any class be able to use Shield Mastery's bonus action shove or Two Weapon Fighting rules, as all the above require the Attack Action.
I would say it only requires 1 hand (no extra attack needed) as a bracer goes on an arm and you can't conceivably grab something with the hand of that arm.
Bracer of Flying Daggers says "As an action, you can pull up to two magic daggers from the bracer and immediately hurl them, making a ranged attack with each dagger." Does this require 2 hands free to use or could you do this with a weapon/shield/focus in your other hand?
As far as I understand it, only one hand is effectively needed, as the Bracer is one single object, not a pair.
It is worth pointing out, though, that you need to have the ability to make more than one attack in your turn if you want to pull and throw both daggers, as the description specifically says you make a ranged attack for each, so you cannot use both daggers unless you have the Extra Attack feature from some other source.
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
I disagree that you LeK, needing Extra Attack to throw both.
The Action is a Use Magic Device Action, not the Attack Action.
You can't two weapon fight it, because you are not using the Attack Action.
It states "As an action, you can pull up to two magic daggers from the bracer and immediately hurl them, making a ranged attack with each dagger."
I don't think this is the case. You're making a "use magic item" action that allows you make 2 ranged attacks as part of it. Everything is part of "as an action". It's not like magic stone where you make the item and then use an action to throw it. Therefore I think you only need 1 hand free (which needs to be the hand the bracer is not on) and toss both at the same time.
edit:
What FMB said :p
Subclass: Dwarven Defender - Dragonborn Paragon
Feats: Artificer Apprentice
Monsters: Sheep - Spellbreaker Warforged Titan
Magic Items: Whipier - Ring of Secret Storage - Collar of the Guardian
Monster template: Skeletal Creature
I disagree on needing extra attack. It says that as an action you draw and throw the daggers. You are using the "Use magic item" action, not the "Attack" action, so the number of attacks you can make with the "Attack" action is irrelevant.
Edit: Ninja'd twice
The official rules don't say anything one way or the other. So, yes, strictly by the rules, you could conceivably be holding onto a shield or other weapon with one hand, and throw with the other. That said, this is absolutely an area where the DM will have final say if its a bit too strange, and might make a call that you need to use both hands, as there's nothing to say this only requires one hand to use.
In short - "Ask your DM, because the book neither confirms nor denies."
Agreed with Full Metal Bunny here. Its not an Attack action - you are making two attacks as part of activating the magic item. This is much like using the Booming Blade or Green Fire Blade cantrips. You're casting a spell (or using a magic device) as your action, and as part of the activation, you're making an attack. There is a difference between the Attack Action and making actual attacks, as strange as it sounds.
So, that means a Rogue will be able to throw two daggers for their turn, and apply sneak attack damage to one of them; furthermore, because this is not using the Two Weapon Fighting rules, you deal 1d4+Strength/Dexterity full damage with each knife thrown, and you'll still have your bonus action to use Cunning Action with. That said, a Monk will be unable to use their Martial Arts bonus action attack (or Flurry of Blows) with the Bracer, nor will any class be able to use Shield Mastery's bonus action shove or Two Weapon Fighting rules, as all the above require the Attack Action.
I would say it only requires 1 hand (no extra attack needed) as a bracer goes on an arm and you can't conceivably grab something with the hand of that arm.
Everyone else is indeed VERY correct, my bad!
Apologies to everyone for my extremely incorrect judgment, and thank you for pointing out my mistake :)
Born in Italy, moved a bunch, living in Spain, my heart always belonged to Roleplaying Games
It's pretty easy to miss I'd say :P so no worries :) If it were like the Magic Stone spell you would have been correct.
Subclass: Dwarven Defender - Dragonborn Paragon
Feats: Artificer Apprentice
Monsters: Sheep - Spellbreaker Warforged Titan
Magic Items: Whipier - Ring of Secret Storage - Collar of the Guardian
Monster template: Skeletal Creature