This is hopefully a quick answer if someone knows, as unfortunately the player's handbook does not actually give this answer.
I am trying to work out the possibility for spell casting that a NPC I am making has and I have not done any multiclassing before. I want to make a level 17 Sorcerer with 3 levels in Warlock. From here, this character can cast spells up to 9th level. Now, from the multiclass rules, I can use the sorcerer spell shots for the Warlocks spells, which is fine.
However, in the individual class rules, the "Spells known" section says "A spell you choose must be a level no higher than what's shown in the table's Slot level column for your level". Do I take my class level when picking spells or character level. Here is my example below,
As a level 3 Warlock, can I learn a 5th level Warlock spell and use my 5th level spell slot from my sorcerer levels to cast it? Or does my Warlock levels decide what level of Warlock spells I can know (up to 2nd level).
It only says spells known, not what level the spell known have to be is in the table.
This is hopefully a quick answer if someone knows, as unfortunately the player's handbook does not actually give this answer.
I am trying to work out the possibility for spell casting that a NPC I am making has and I have not done any multiclassing before. I want to make a level 17 Sorcerer with 3 levels in Warlock. From here, this character can cast spells up to 9th level. Now, from the multiclass rules, I can use the sorcerer spell shots for the Warlocks spells, which is fine.
However, in the individual class rules, the "Spells known" section says "A spell you choose must be a level no higher than what's shown in the table's Slot level column for your level". Do I take my class level when picking spells or character level. Here is my example below,
As a level 3 Warlock, can I learn a 5th level Warlock spell and use my 5th level spell slot from my sorcerer levels to cast it? Or does my Warlock levels decide what level of Warlock spells I can know (up to 2nd level).
It only says spells known, not what level the spell known have to be is in the table.
You use the class level when picking spells known.
A bard 9 /sorcerer 11 for example, would have 9th level slots, but would only know level 5 bard spells and level 6 sorcerer spells.
Thanks for the information, looks like I am gonna have to use some "creative DM" to work out how to give this NPC some abilities.