I had previously made a post but I realized now that the question was revolving around the wrong spell. If the players have an eyeball, can they cast resurrection on an eyeball to bring back the whole creature?
The eyeball of a creature is still part of that creature even if removed. You are still touching the creature even if only touching the removed eyeball.
The spell specifically states it recovers any missing body parts.
So, yes.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
And only if the creature is actually dead. If you take the eyeball from a living creature then you can't resurrect anything from that body part. The soul of the target must be free and willing, so if it is still alive then that soul is not free.
@RegentCorreon Resurrecting from a body part of a living creature would be hilarious. Though that does make me wonder about fungi or plant creatures that literally grow smaller versions of themselves from body parts. How would a Resurrection or Regeneration spell affect them?
@RegentCorreon Resurrecting from a body part of a living creature would be hilarious. Though that does make me wonder about fungi or plant creatures that literally grow smaller versions of themselves from body parts. How would a Resurrection or Regeneration spell affect them?
If you have a dead piece of a dead plant creature (its soul no longer in any body) , you can resurrect it. If the piece of dead plant creature is a living offspring that budded off that creature, you can't target it with the spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I had previously made a post but I realized now that the question was revolving around the wrong spell. If the players have an eyeball, can they cast resurrection on an eyeball to bring back the whole creature?
The eyeball of a creature is still part of that creature even if removed. You are still touching the creature even if only touching the removed eyeball.
The spell specifically states it recovers any missing body parts.
So, yes.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
And only if the creature is actually dead. If you take the eyeball from a living creature then you can't resurrect anything from that body part. The soul of the target must be free and willing, so if it is still alive then that soul is not free.
@RegentCorreon Resurrecting from a body part of a living creature would be hilarious. Though that does make me wonder about fungi or plant creatures that literally grow smaller versions of themselves from body parts. How would a Resurrection or Regeneration spell affect them?
If you have a dead piece of a dead plant creature (its soul no longer in any body) , you can resurrect it. If the piece of dead plant creature is a living offspring that budded off that creature, you can't target it with the spell.