if i use shapechange to temporarily turn into a creature that can kill and permanently control creatures such as an wight, vampire or wraith, and i sucessfully do so during the duration, would i retain control of those creatures after i loose the trait that allowed me to make them?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
i am soup, with too many ideas (all of them very spicy) who has made sufficient homebrew material and character to last an thousand human lifetimes
You assume the form of a different creature for the duration. The new form can be of any creature with a challenge rating equal to your level or lower. The creature can't be a construct or an undead, and you must have seen the sort of creature at least once. You transform into an average example of that creature, one without any class levels or the Spellcasting trait.
yeah but lets say i do, will the vampire spawn and spectres remain under my control after i loose concentration or dispel the spell? or will they immediately start attacking me?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
i am soup, with too many ideas (all of them very spicy) who has made sufficient homebrew material and character to last an thousand human lifetimes
yeah but lets say i do, will the vampire spawn and spectres remain under my control after i loose concentration or dispel the spell? or will they immediately start attacking me?
Hmm... Hard to say for sure, so would be up to DM.
Not necessarily, there are some monsters that have similar abilities and are not undead or constructs (such as a corpse flower or a nightmare shepherd).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
All stars fade. Some stars forever fall. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Homebrew (Mostly Outdated):Magic Items,Monsters,Spells,Subclasses ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- If there was no light, people wouldn't fear the dark.
EDIT: Ok the thread wasn't as long as I initially thought. Some of the posts didn't understand the original question and nothing gave a definitive ruling per RAW either way.
if i use shapechange to temporarily turn into a creature that can kill and permanently control creatures such as an wight, vampire or wraith, and i sucessfully do so during the duration, would i retain control of those creatures after i loose the trait that allowed me to make them?
i am soup, with too many ideas (all of them very spicy) who has made sufficient homebrew material and character to last an thousand human lifetimes
Are you talking about the spell shapechange?
Outside of shapechange and/or non-undead, idk.
I think you need to use true polymorph.
yeah but lets say i do, will the vampire spawn and spectres remain under my control after i loose concentration or dispel the spell? or will they immediately start attacking me?
i am soup, with too many ideas (all of them very spicy) who has made sufficient homebrew material and character to last an thousand human lifetimes
Hmm... Hard to say for sure, so would be up to DM.
Not necessarily, there are some monsters that have similar abilities and are not undead or constructs (such as a corpse flower or a nightmare shepherd).
All stars fade. Some stars forever fall.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Homebrew (Mostly Outdated): Magic Items, Monsters, Spells, Subclasses
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If there was no light, people wouldn't fear the dark.
Just found this maybe you'll find something. No answers yet, though.
https://www.reddit.com/r/dndnext/comments/e41vke/true_polymorph_into_vampire_to_create_spawn/
EDIT: Ok the thread wasn't as long as I initially thought. Some of the posts didn't understand the original question and nothing gave a definitive ruling per RAW either way.