a late thank you for the reply I dont know why I haven't said so already XD but additionally can someone who can cast spells at will cast the same spell at a higher level with the cost of a spell slot. even if they dont have it prepared or learned ?
a late thank you for the reply I dont know why I haven't said so already XD but additionally can someone who can cast spells at will cast the same spell at a higher level with the cost of a spell slot. even if they dont have it prepared or learned ?
No, it is always cast at the lowest level for that spell.
So, for example, a tiefling could only cast the racial version of Hellish Rebuke as a 1st level spell, regardless of what spell slots they might have. Even if they are a warlock, have higher level spell slots available, AND have the spell in their list of known spells, the racial (at-will) version still can only be cast as a 1st level spell.
“It is a better world. A place where we are responsible for our actions, where we can be kind to one another because we want to and because it is the right thing to do instead of being frightened into behaving by the threat of divine punishment.” ― Oramis, Eldest by Christopher Paolini.
a late thank you for the reply I dont know why I haven't said so already XD but additionally can someone who can cast spells at will cast the same spell at a higher level with the cost of a spell slot. even if they dont have it prepared or learned ?
No, it is always cast at the lowest level for that spell.
So, for example, a tiefling could only cast the racial version of Hellish Rebuke as a 1st level spell, regardless of what spell slots they might have. Even if they are a warlock, have higher level spell slots available, AND have the spell in their list of known spells, the racial (at-will) version still can only be cast as a 1st level spell.
When you reach 3rd level, you can cast the hellish rebuke spell as a 2nd-level spell once with this trait and regain the ability to do so when you finish a long rest.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both" -- allegedly Benjamin Franklin
I know the default is the spell always casted at lowest level. except if it says otherwise.
I am asking if you can ever Cast it at a higher level by Expending your spell slots. does it count as a spell you know or prepared . I mean you can cast it at will so you must know it right ?
I know the default is the spell always casted at lowest level. except if it says otherwise.
I am asking if you can ever Cast it at a higher level by Expending your spell slots. does it count as a spell you know or prepared . I mean you can cast it at will so you must know it right ?
I-d say no, usually when you gain a spell to cast at will is not included in your class spellcasting ability.
I know the default is the spell always casted at lowest level. except if it says otherwise.
I am asking if you can ever Cast it at a higher level by Expending your spell slots. does it count as a spell you know or prepared . I mean you can cast it at will so you must know it right ?
Just because you can do something innately doesn't mean you're conscious of how you're doing it. I can move my fingers at will, but I can't explain to you how I do it. Ultimately a signal reaches my fingers through my nerves, but I don't have any conscious control over that. I just think about moving my fingers, and they move. Casting Cloudkill probably comes naturally to a Mezzoloth in the same way.
If you have spell slots, you have to follow the rules of the Spellcasting or Pact Magic class feature that gave them to you. E.g. If you're a cleric, you have to prepare a spell to cast it with spell slots. If you're a bard, you have to learn the spell. If you find a way to learn an extra bard spell, like the Magic Initiate feat, you could use your bard spellcasting to cast that spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
The Forum Infestation (TM)
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
when you gain the Ability to cast a spell at will . lets say Alter self .
does this spell still have the concentration requirement ?
what do you think ?
Lead designer of: Druid Wild Shape Revised, Druid: Circle of Monstrosity (Homebrew class), Revised Classes : Focus on level 20.
Homebrewer of: Halwasa`s Mushrooms of fluid movement (Item), Giraffe (Beast), Displacer Panther (Beast) (heavily modified Displacer Beast that is owned by WoC), Lightning whip (2nd-level Spell), Lesser Shapechange (5th-level Spell), Investiture of Lightning (6th-level Spell), Touched by the magic (Feat).
Yes, it needs all the requirements (concentration, components...). It just does not consumes spell slots.
a late thank you for the reply I dont know why I haven't said so already XD
but additionally
can someone who can cast spells at will cast the same spell at a higher level with the cost of a spell slot. even if they dont have it prepared or learned ?
Lead designer of: Druid Wild Shape Revised, Druid: Circle of Monstrosity (Homebrew class), Revised Classes : Focus on level 20.
Homebrewer of: Halwasa`s Mushrooms of fluid movement (Item), Giraffe (Beast), Displacer Panther (Beast) (heavily modified Displacer Beast that is owned by WoC), Lightning whip (2nd-level Spell), Lesser Shapechange (5th-level Spell), Investiture of Lightning (6th-level Spell), Touched by the magic (Feat).
So, for example, a tiefling could only cast the racial version of Hellish Rebuke as a 1st level spell, regardless of what spell slots they might have. Even if they are a warlock, have higher level spell slots available, AND have the spell in their list of known spells, the racial (at-will) version still can only be cast as a 1st level spell.
Click Here to Download my Lancer Class w/ Dragoon and Legionnaire Archetypes via DM's Guild - Pay What You Want
Click Here to Download the Mind Flayer: Thoon Hulk converted from 4e via DM's Guild
“It is a better world. A place where we are responsible for our actions, where we can be kind to one another because we want to and because it is the right thing to do instead of being frightened into behaving by the threat of divine punishment.” ― Oramis, Eldest by Christopher Paolini.
"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both" -- allegedly Benjamin Franklin
Tooltips (Help/aid)
I know the default is the spell always casted at lowest level. except if it says otherwise.
I am asking if you can ever Cast it at a higher level by Expending your spell slots. does it count as a spell you know or prepared . I mean you can cast it at will so you must know it right ?
Lead designer of: Druid Wild Shape Revised, Druid: Circle of Monstrosity (Homebrew class), Revised Classes : Focus on level 20.
Homebrewer of: Halwasa`s Mushrooms of fluid movement (Item), Giraffe (Beast), Displacer Panther (Beast) (heavily modified Displacer Beast that is owned by WoC), Lightning whip (2nd-level Spell), Lesser Shapechange (5th-level Spell), Investiture of Lightning (6th-level Spell), Touched by the magic (Feat).
The Forum Infestation (TM)