You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
They changed the wording of the second function of the feat for a reason, why? How are the circumstances of the second and third functions of the feat different in a way that makes these two scenarios any different technically? I don't see it, as long as the person with the sentinel feat, is threatening the squares of the creature in question and the creature triggers the opening for a reaction to attack them, by attacking a target other than you, the function of the feat should still apply imho.?.?.?
Well, I mean you can house rule it to make it make more sense to you, but that isn't what the words say. The scenarios may not seem different, but the rules are.
They did change the second bullet. They removed "within 5 feet of you" because that bullet had both "within 5 feet of you" and "leaves your reach." Those two would be in immediate internal conflict if you reach was not 5'. There is no internal conflict in the third benefit of the feat, so they left it as is -- they prefer to errata as little as possible. I will note that they did not choose to errata the third benefit at the time that they fixed the second, so it must be worded in a manner that they're comfortable with leaving as is.
Note that Polearm Mastery does grant an opportunity attack, and thus combined with sentinel allows stopping creatures as they try to enter your reach, which is... pretty cheesy.
If you are using a weapon that has the "Reach" property would that extend the Sentinel feats reaction attacks to the limit of your reach?
Do you dance with the devil in the pale moonlight?
Yes, and no.
Reach does apply to the range at which a creature can provoke an attack of opportunity from you, and bullets #1 & #2 from Sentinel do apply to that.
Bullet #3, which is probably the one you were wondering most about, does not interact with Reach. That ability is explicitly 5 feet.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Thank you. I needed that cleared up.
Do you dance with the devil in the pale moonlight?
But why? it seems to go against all logic of how this works.
It is because sentinel says "within 5 feet of you." Holding a reach weapon doesn't change how close the creature is.
They changed the wording of the second function of the feat for a reason, why? How are the circumstances of the second and third functions of the feat different in a way that makes these two scenarios any different technically? I don't see it, as long as the person with the sentinel feat, is threatening the squares of the creature in question and the creature triggers the opening for a reaction to attack them, by attacking a target other than you, the function of the feat should still apply imho.?.?.?
Well, I mean you can house rule it to make it make more sense to you, but that isn't what the words say. The scenarios may not seem different, but the rules are.
They did change the second bullet. They removed "within 5 feet of you" because that bullet had both "within 5 feet of you" and "leaves your reach." Those two would be in immediate internal conflict if you reach was not 5'. There is no internal conflict in the third benefit of the feat, so they left it as is -- they prefer to errata as little as possible. I will note that they did not choose to errata the third benefit at the time that they fixed the second, so it must be worded in a manner that they're comfortable with leaving as is.
Note that Polearm Mastery does grant an opportunity attack, and thus combined with sentinel allows stopping creatures as they try to enter your reach, which is... pretty cheesy.