According to the phb, "When a character casts a spell, he or she expends a spell slot of that spell's level or higher, effectively "filling" a slot with the spell. You can think of a spell slot as a groove of a certain size - small for a 1st-level slot, larger for a spell of higher level. A 1st-level spell fits into a slot of any size, but a 9th-level spell fits only in a 9th-level slot". This means that shield will still count as a 1st level spell, but the 2nd level slot will be expended.
A spell's level always matches the slot used to cast it. Shield cast with a 2nd level spell slot is a 2nd level spell even if it does the exact same thing as a 1st level Shield spell.
Casting a Spell at a Higher Level
When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. For instance, if Umara casts magic missile using one of her 2nd-level slots, that magic missile is 2nd level.
Effectively, the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into.
Some spells, such as magic missile and cure wounds, have more powerful effects when cast at a higher level, as detailed in a spell's description.
An immobile, faintly shimmering barrier springs into existence in a 10-foot radius around you and remains for the duration.
Any spell of 5th level or lower cast from outside the barrier can't affect creatures or objects within it, even if the spell is cast using a higher level spell slot.
Note this means that you can not counterspell someone that is casting from inside the 6th level spell Globe of Invunerability.
But Also note, this exception proves the rule above. Normally, when you upcast a spell, it counts as the higher level. Where there are exceptions to this rule, they mention it.
If I was to cast the shield spell with a 2nd level slot, since it doesn’t scale is it a level 2 spell or is it still considered a level 1 spell?
According to the phb, "When a character casts a spell, he or she expends a spell slot of that spell's level or higher, effectively "filling" a slot with the spell. You can think of a spell slot as a groove of a certain size - small for a 1st-level slot, larger for a spell of higher level. A 1st-level spell fits into a slot of any size, but a 9th-level spell fits only in a 9th-level slot". This means that shield will still count as a 1st level spell, but the 2nd level slot will be expended.
It is considered a lvl 1 spell. Unless a spell has a thing that says u can upcast it , it doesnt do anythoing more
Enjoy my magic items, spells, monsters, my race, and a few feats. And GIVE ME FEEDBACK... or else.
Like what I say?
⬐ Just press this little guy right here.
So if you cast shield at a 4th level slot can it be counter spelled with a 3rd level counter spell
A spell's level always matches the slot used to cast it. Shield cast with a 2nd level spell slot is a 2nd level spell even if it does the exact same thing as a 1st level Shield spell.
The distinction is important for various game effects like Ring of Spell Storing, Counterspell, Dispel Magic, and monsters with Limited Magic Immunity.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Ok thank you!
There is an exception to that Upcasting rule:
Note this means that you can not counterspell someone that is casting from inside the 6th level spell Globe of Invunerability.
But Also note, this exception proves the rule above. Normally, when you upcast a spell, it counts as the higher level. Where there are exceptions to this rule, they mention it.