So the Cleric cast Mass Healing Word for the first time and positioned himself so that everyone within the party was within 60ft of him (it was a pretty spread out battle but everyone was still within range) however when he went to cast it the DM said no it only applies 60ft in 1 direction? This was how DM interpreted the rule and I was just wondering if that's how it's meant to be? I always assumed it was just anyone within 60ft of the caster for Mass Healing word but the spell doesn't specify radius which is why I didn't question it at the time but it's not sitting right with me.
So I guess long story short question is: Is Mass Healing Word's 60ft radius meant to be a line or a radius?
Mass Healing Word does not designate that it is a line or a circle. It simply has a range of 60 feet. Besides which, it's not targeting an area, either. It's targeting creatures. Taken together it means the spell affects up to 6 targets within a circle of 60 foot radius, centered on the caster.
DM played it wrong.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So the Cleric cast Mass Healing Word for the first time and positioned himself so that everyone within the party was within 60ft of him (it was a pretty spread out battle but everyone was still within range) however when he went to cast it the DM said no it only applies 60ft in 1 direction? This was how DM interpreted the rule and I was just wondering if that's how it's meant to be? I always assumed it was just anyone within 60ft of the caster for Mass Healing word but the spell doesn't specify radius which is why I didn't question it at the time but it's not sitting right with me.
So I guess long story short question is: Is Mass Healing Word's 60ft radius meant to be a line or a radius?
It's effectively a radius. If you're within 60 feet of the caster, you can be targeted.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
I'm with Inquisitive on this. Mass healing word has some boxes that need to be checked.
No mention of shapes of area because you explicitly choose the targets.
Mass Healing Word does not designate that it is a line or a circle. It simply has a range of 60 feet. Besides which, it's not targeting an area, either. It's targeting creatures. Taken together it means the spell affects up to 6 targets within a circle of 60 foot radius, centered on the caster.
DM played it wrong.