There was some confusion about Invocations but from my understanding of warlock invocations that lets warlocks cast certain spells at will, such as eldritch invocations armor of shadows and eldritch sight (mage armor and detect magic), these spells are automatically added to the warlock's spell list. A DM argued such invocations only lets a warlock cast said spells at will, not learn them. Clarification would be would be most appreciated.
Your DM is correct. Nothing in the rules for those invocations says you're able to learn them, though I don't see why you'd want to. You can already cast them at will, so why waste one of your limited spells known?
Your DM is correct. Nothing in the rules for those invocations says you're able to learn them, though I don't see why you'd want to. You can already cast them at will, so why waste one of your limited spells known?
The only reason that I could think that you would want to learn Mage Armor and have Armor of Shadows would be so that you could cast Mage Armor on an ally which you couldn't do with Armor of Shadows. But with your limited spell slots, why would you do that? There might be something that requires you to have say shield and Mage Armor for some reason but I can't think of anything in particular.
Edit: now I'm wondering if they've acquired Staff of Defense. If so, you can already cast Mage Armor at will with Armor of Shadows, albeit only on yourself. Don't stress not being able to cast it.
Your DM is correct. Nothing in the rules for those invocations says you're able to learn them, though I don't see why you'd want to. You can already cast them at will, so why waste one of your limited spells known?
The thing is when you take the invocations on DnDBeyond character creation and Roll20, you auto gain the spells and can cast them at will. The DM was confused why and so the confusion ensued. After looking through sage advice on the topic, we came to the conclusion per Jeremy Crawford's words that eldritch invocation that lets warlocks cast spells at will awards the warlock the spells immediately. https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/1098753768554811392
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
There was some confusion about Invocations but from my understanding of warlock invocations that lets warlocks cast certain spells at will, such as eldritch invocations armor of shadows and eldritch sight (mage armor and detect magic), these spells are automatically added to the warlock's spell list. A DM argued such invocations only lets a warlock cast said spells at will, not learn them. Clarification would be would be most appreciated.
Your DM is correct. Nothing in the rules for those invocations says you're able to learn them, though I don't see why you'd want to. You can already cast them at will, so why waste one of your limited spells known?
The Forum Infestation (TM)
The only reason that I could think that you would want to learn Mage Armor and have Armor of Shadows would be so that you could cast Mage Armor on an ally which you couldn't do with Armor of Shadows. But with your limited spell slots, why would you do that? There might be something that requires you to have say shield and Mage Armor for some reason but I can't think of anything in particular.
Edit: now I'm wondering if they've acquired Staff of Defense. If so, you can already cast Mage Armor at will with Armor of Shadows, albeit only on yourself. Don't stress not being able to cast it.
The thing is when you take the invocations on DnDBeyond character creation and Roll20, you auto gain the spells and can cast them at will. The DM was confused why and so the confusion ensued. After looking through sage advice on the topic, we came to the conclusion per Jeremy Crawford's words that eldritch invocation that lets warlocks cast spells at will awards the warlock the spells immediately. https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/1098753768554811392