When the druid casts Moonbeam. Then runs in the opposite direction away from it. Is there a max range at which the moonbeam will dissappear and no longer be active? Or is the range indefinite as long as the druid can maintain concentration. Even though she is on the other side of town, a valley or a continent?
also. is the Druid supposed to be on the same realm. In case she somehow makes it to the ethereal realm, similar to Blink Spell, would that remove the moonbeam on the Material Realm?
There is no max range after casting. I thought briefly that when you move your moonbeam it had to be to a point within range, but it doesn't say that either.
There's no general rule that a spell ceases to function when the caster goes to another plane. This spell doesn't say it ceases to function so it doesn't.
Agreed. For an example of a similar spell that you couldn't move if out of range or on another plane, see Dawn.
...If you’re within 60 feet of the cylinder, you can move it up to 60 feet as a bonus action on your turn...
Notable language to check for includes anything requiring you to be within X feet of the effect, or limiting you to move it to "a spot you can see." If a spell doesn't mention those limitations in its spell description, then those limitations don't exist for that spell.
When the druid casts Moonbeam. Then runs in the opposite direction away from it. Is there a max range at which the moonbeam will dissappear and no longer be active? Or is the range indefinite as long as the druid can maintain concentration. Even though she is on the other side of town, a valley or a continent?
also. is the Druid supposed to be on the same realm. In case she somehow makes it to the ethereal realm, similar to Blink Spell, would that remove the moonbeam on the Material Realm?
There is no max range after casting. I thought briefly that when you move your moonbeam it had to be to a point within range, but it doesn't say that either.
There's no general rule that a spell ceases to function when the caster goes to another plane. This spell doesn't say it ceases to function so it doesn't.
Agreed. For an example of a similar spell that you couldn't move if out of range or on another plane, see Dawn.
Notable language to check for includes anything requiring you to be within X feet of the effect, or limiting you to move it to "a spot you can see." If a spell doesn't mention those limitations in its spell description, then those limitations don't exist for that spell.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
ok. good to know when going forward :)