I recently had my party face the Oblex. Using Charm person through one of the thralls, it managed to charm one of the party members, and then the combat started.
So, the Oblex did not target the charmed creature by any harmful effects, attacking his friends instead. I would like to confirm two things I ruled out:
1) Attacking allies does not dispel Charm Person, so the character could only buff the allies but not harm the Oblex (spell description says "it is Charmed by you until the spell ends or until you (i.e. the charmer) or your (charmer's) companions do anything harmful to it.") 2) Since Oblex description states that "for all practical purposes" the thralls are the Oblex, the charmed person could not target all the thralls, not just the one who delivered the spell?
Good day to the esteemed experts!
I recently had my party face the Oblex. Using Charm person through one of the thralls, it managed to charm one of the party members, and then the combat started.
So, the Oblex did not target the charmed creature by any harmful effects, attacking his friends instead. I would like to confirm two things I ruled out:
1) Attacking allies does not dispel Charm Person, so the character could only buff the allies but not harm the Oblex (spell description says "it is Charmed by you until the spell ends or until you (i.e. the charmer) or your (charmer's) companions do anything harmful to it.")
2) Since Oblex description states that "for all practical purposes" the thralls are the Oblex, the charmed person could not target all the thralls, not just the one who delivered the spell?
Yes and yes.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.