As I understand, Magic Initiate lets you pick a spellcasting class, learn a lv1 spell from that class and use it once per long rest; if you pick the same class you already are, you can use your spell slots to cast what you learned through the feat.
My two questions are: -Would the same rule apply to an Eldritch Knight who chose Wizard for the feat, to spend his spell slots to cast the lv1 spell? -Do I get an "extra" spell slot exclusively for the spell learned with the feat?*
*I feel like this may be a dumb question, but I rather be sure.
Would the same rule apply to an Eldritch Knight who chose Wizard for the feat, to spend his spell slots to cast the lv1 spell?
When you take Magic Initiate feat you "learn" the spell and get a free daily casting of it. Learning the spell and how to cast with a class feature follows the rules of Spellcasting (or Pact Magic in case of Warlock) for your class(es). For the Eldritch Knight, the spellcasting feature lets you cast any spell you know from the Wizard spell list using your slots so, yes, if you took Magic Initiate (Wizard) as an Eldritch Knight, you'd be able to cast that spell using your spell slots, in addition to the daily free cast.
Do I get an "extra" spell slot exclusively for the spell learned with the feat?
Technically no, but in practice yes.
For the feature it's basically like a special 1st level slot only for that spell. However, it is important to note it does not actually grant a slot. So, you can't consume it for a Sorcery Point if you multiclassed to Sorcerer, you can't spend the slot when Divine/Eldritch smiting, you can't recover it using Arcane Recovery, etc.
You get to cast the spell once, as if you were casting it using a 1st level slot, and once you have you cannot do so again until you complete a long rest. But this is only "as if" you had a slot to make it easier to think about. You don't actually cast with a slot. If a feature said "if you cast a spell using a spell slot you gain 1d4 temporary hit points" or something, then casting using this the free daily casting of the spell will not trigger that feature.
Hope that makes sense.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
As I understand, Magic Initiate lets you pick a spellcasting class, learn a lv1 spell from that class and use it once per long rest; if you pick the same class you already are, you can use your spell slots to cast what you learned through the feat.
My two questions are:
-Would the same rule apply to an Eldritch Knight who chose Wizard for the feat, to spend his spell slots to cast the lv1 spell?
-Do I get an "extra" spell slot exclusively for the spell learned with the feat?*
*I feel like this may be a dumb question, but I rather be sure.
Would the same rule apply to an Eldritch Knight who chose Wizard for the feat, to spend his spell slots to cast the lv1 spell?
When you take Magic Initiate feat you "learn" the spell and get a free daily casting of it. Learning the spell and how to cast with a class feature follows the rules of Spellcasting (or Pact Magic in case of Warlock) for your class(es). For the Eldritch Knight, the spellcasting feature lets you cast any spell you know from the Wizard spell list using your slots so, yes, if you took Magic Initiate (Wizard) as an Eldritch Knight, you'd be able to cast that spell using your spell slots, in addition to the daily free cast.
Do I get an "extra" spell slot exclusively for the spell learned with the feat?
Technically no, but in practice yes.
For the feature it's basically like a special 1st level slot only for that spell. However, it is important to note it does not actually grant a slot. So, you can't consume it for a Sorcery Point if you multiclassed to Sorcerer, you can't spend the slot when Divine/Eldritch smiting, you can't recover it using Arcane Recovery, etc.
You get to cast the spell once, as if you were casting it using a 1st level slot, and once you have you cannot do so again until you complete a long rest. But this is only "as if" you had a slot to make it easier to think about. You don't actually cast with a slot. If a feature said "if you cast a spell using a spell slot you gain 1d4 temporary hit points" or something, then casting using this the free daily casting of the spell will not trigger that feature.
Hope that makes sense.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Yeah, that makes sense, and I phrased my 2nd question poorly, but I understood, thank you.