Need help figuring this out. At 15th lvl the Artificer(Artillerist) gets Fortified Position which gives you 2 turrets and each turret gives half cover within 10ft of it. My question is: Does the effect of the half cover stack? If it does, does it give you 3/4 cover, Full cover with no negatives for the player, or is it 1/2 cover doubled for +4 AC and +4 dex save? The ability doesn’t say it stacks, but it also doesn’t say it doesn’t stack.
If anyone can help me with this it would be highly appreciated.
Essentially, it's just providing cover for more people. Think of a 3 ft fence that's 10 ft long. If I told you that I was adding another 10 ft, would you expect it to be 6 ft tall if I didn't specify that? The rules typically work the same way: by telling you what they do.
Edit: substitute 1 meter for 3 ft, 2 meters for 6 ft, and 3 meters for 10 ft. It's not accurate, but it'll give you the jist required for the example.
Need help figuring this out. At 15th lvl the Artificer(Artillerist) gets Fortified Position which gives you 2 turrets and each turret gives half cover within 10ft of it. My question is: Does the effect of the half cover stack? If it does, does it give you 3/4 cover, Full cover with no negatives for the player, or is it 1/2 cover doubled for +4 AC and +4 dex save?
The ability doesn’t say it stacks, but it also doesn’t say it doesn’t stack.
If anyone can help me with this it would be highly appreciated.
No they do not stack.
If you apply an abillity or effect twice, then they don't stack. As long as multiple of the same effect are activ, the highest one counts.
It is in one of the basic rule books as far as i remeber.
Essentially, it's just providing cover for more people. Think of a 3 ft fence that's 10 ft long. If I told you that I was adding another 10 ft, would you expect it to be 6 ft tall if I didn't specify that? The rules typically work the same way: by telling you what they do.
Edit: substitute 1 meter for 3 ft, 2 meters for 6 ft, and 3 meters for 10 ft. It's not accurate, but it'll give you the jist required for the example.
Follow up question: do you add this +2 for half cover if you are using a shield, for +4, or is a shield considered cover?
Shield is armour, cover AC and Armour AC do stack.