Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch up to 4 nonmagical objects, imbuing each of them with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item. You can attune yourself to the item the instant you infuse it, or you can forgo attunement so that someone else can attune to the item.
Your infusion remains in an item indefinitely, but when you die, the infusion vanishes after 5 days. The infusion also vanishes if you give up your knowledge of the infusion or you exceed your maximum number of infusions.
------
Is it too much to infer that if you held of on attunement that someone else could instantly attune?
Example, you don't have the slots to help them but you have a necklace of adaptation on standby that you could slap on them.
Is it the infused item that has the property of instant attunement or just me as the artificer?
If you're a DM would you allow this or too much potential shenanigans?
Yeah, no. It is only at the moment of infusion that the Artificer gets one chance to attune instantly. If they forgo that opportunity than anyone (including the Artificer themselves) will only be able to attune to the item using the normal attunement rules.
It is just the artificer that gets the instant attunement. I'm also not sure what situation you would be in that your party doesn't have time to attune after a long rest.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Question about this bit for the artificer.
Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch up to 4 nonmagical objects, imbuing each of them with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item. You can attune yourself to the item the instant you infuse it, or you can forgo attunement so that someone else can attune to the item.
Your infusion remains in an item indefinitely, but when you die, the infusion vanishes after 5 days. The infusion also vanishes if you give up your knowledge of the infusion or you exceed your maximum number of infusions.
------
Is it too much to infer that if you held of on attunement that someone else could instantly attune?
Example, you don't have the slots to help them but you have a necklace of adaptation on standby that you could slap on them.
Is it the infused item that has the property of instant attunement or just me as the artificer?
If you're a DM would you allow this or too much potential shenanigans?
Yeah, no. It is only at the moment of infusion that the Artificer gets one chance to attune instantly. If they forgo that opportunity than anyone (including the Artificer themselves) will only be able to attune to the item using the normal attunement rules.
It is just the artificer that gets the instant attunement. I'm also not sure what situation you would be in that your party doesn't have time to attune after a long rest.