One of my players last session did the following. Move to the target, attack the target, used misty step to reach a different enemy and use his extra attack.
Is it correct for him to do that since he is breaking his extra attack with a bonus action?
You can take a bonus action at any time during your turn unless its timing is specified. Misty Step doesn't have any timing requirements. What your player did is valid.
On the other hand, if a bonus action depends on taking the Attack action, such as the one in the Shield Master feat, then they have to finish taking the Attack action (including all additional attacks) first.
Per the rules on bonus action you choose when to take it unless the ability/feature/reason for granting it specifies otherwise. The bonus action timing for casting a spell has no extra timing limitation on it, so that is a 100% valid use of the ability. nothing in the attack action says you must take extra attacks immediately after each other. As a matter of fact, it lets you freely move between them. Also nothing says the action types cannot overlap, you could take a reaction during your action for example if it came up (like, I am a battlemaster fighter with riposte, I deliberately draw an AoO during my movement hoping they miss so I can use my reaction (during my normal action).
Assuming the extra attack is the "Extra Attack" Fighter feature, or something similar, yes. If the extra attack is an attack with an offhand weapon, then no, because both Misty Step and offhand attacks use your Bonus Action.
If you read the whole thread of tweets, you'll notice Jeremy Crawford thought they were talking about bonus actions triggered by actions, and hence his ruling that a bonus action [triggered by an action] could not happen before the action that triggered it was finished (and therefore, no "bonus action triggered by an Attack action between individual attacks"). In this case, the bonus action is a spell, not triggered by the Attack action, and therefore nothing prevents the character from casting it between attacks.
Also, if you read Crawfords tweets as a whole, you'll notice that Jeremy Crawford in general doesn't know what the hell he's talking about and usually takes the dumbest possible interpretation on each and every question.
If you read the whole thread of tweets, you'll notice Jeremy Crawford thought they were talking about bonus actions triggered by actions, and hence his ruling that a bonus action [triggered by an action] could not happen before the action that triggered it was finished (and therefore, no "bonus action triggered by an Attack action between individual attacks"). In this case, the bonus action is a spell, not triggered by the Attack action, and therefore nothing prevents the character from casting it between attacks.
The full text of the tweet is:
No general rule allows you to insert a bonus action between attacks in a single action. You can interrupt a multiple-attack action with a bonus action/reaction only if the trigger of the bonus action/reaction is an attack, rather than the action.
Misty step doesn't have any trigger so it can't interrupt a multiple-attack action.
One of my players last session did the following. Move to the target, attack the target, used misty step to reach a different enemy and use his extra attack.
Is it correct for him to do that since he is breaking his extra attack with a bonus action?
You can take a bonus action at any time during your turn unless its timing is specified. Misty Step doesn't have any timing requirements. What your player did is valid.
On the other hand, if a bonus action depends on taking the Attack action, such as the one in the Shield Master feat, then they have to finish taking the Attack action (including all additional attacks) first.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Perfect answer thanks a lot.
Per the rules on bonus action you choose when to take it unless the ability/feature/reason for granting it specifies otherwise.
The bonus action timing for casting a spell has no extra timing limitation on it, so that is a 100% valid use of the ability.
nothing in the attack action says you must take extra attacks immediately after each other. As a matter of fact, it lets you freely move between them.
Also nothing says the action types cannot overlap, you could take a reaction during your action for example if it came up (like, I am a battlemaster fighter with riposte, I deliberately draw an AoO during my movement hoping they miss so I can use my reaction (during my normal action).
Assuming the extra attack is the "Extra Attack" Fighter feature, or something similar, yes. If the extra attack is an attack with an offhand weapon, then no, because both Misty Step and offhand attacks use your Bonus Action.
No, that is not by the rules.
From Jeremy Crawford: No general rule allows you to insert a bonus action between attacks in a single action..
If you read the whole thread of tweets, you'll notice Jeremy Crawford thought they were talking about bonus actions triggered by actions, and hence his ruling that a bonus action [triggered by an action] could not happen before the action that triggered it was finished (and therefore, no "bonus action triggered by an Attack action between individual attacks"). In this case, the bonus action is a spell, not triggered by the Attack action, and therefore nothing prevents the character from casting it between attacks.
Also, if you read Crawfords tweets as a whole, you'll notice that Jeremy Crawford in general doesn't know what the hell he's talking about and usually takes the dumbest possible interpretation on each and every question.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
The full text of the tweet is:
Misty step doesn't have any trigger so it can't interrupt a multiple-attack action.
From my first post:
"My tweet below was addressing bonus actions and reactions that have triggers. A bonus action that has no trigger—such as Cunning Action and the misty step spell—can take place whenever you want on your turn (PH, 189)."
Where "my tweet below" is exactly the tweet you're quoting.
The Forum Infestation (TM)