Can the battlemaster decide if he is going to use the "Tactical Assessment" maneuver after he has made the check and seen his roll (but still before knowing the outcome)?
As DxJxC points out, it normally states you can roll it after knowing the result. Bold for emphasis.
'When you make an Intelligence (Investigation), an Intelligence (History), or a Wisdom (Insight) check, you can expend one superiority die and add the superiority die to the ability check.'
I sometimes find it useful to flip the rule around into a question: 'At what point can I expend a superiority die and add it to my result?' And then answer is 'When you make it'. If it were to say 'After you make...' then it'd be different.
Can the battlemaster decide if he is going to use the "Tactical Assessment" maneuver after he has made the check and seen his roll (but still before knowing the outcome)?
Usually, when you can the feature says so. So since it doesn't, I think you have to decide before.
Definitely something I would allow as a DM. Ask yours.
As DxJxC points out, it normally states you can roll it after knowing the result. Bold for emphasis.
I sometimes find it useful to flip the rule around into a question: 'At what point can I expend a superiority die and add it to my result?' And then answer is 'When you make it'. If it were to say 'After you make...' then it'd be different.
Me too.