If you were lvl 5 and did the classic cast Hex early morning and say picked Wisdom as your disadvantage and a couple hours later transferred Hex to an NPC in order to allow your Bard to deceive them and have them get disadvantage on their Insight check, can you then move Hex off of them after you're done? Or, because of the 0 HP note in the spell, you'd have to drop concentration and cast a new Hex spell if you wanted to change targets?
And if that is the case, would some DM's typically say its fine to move Hex even if the target doesn't drop to 0 HP or do you find most would stick to the wording?
If it were my table I'd rule you would have to expire the original Hex (stop concentrating) and cast it again for the second effect if the original Hexed character still lived. You could obviously have short rested between the two castings
If it were my table I'd rule you would have to expire the Hex (stop concentrating) and cast it again for the second effect if the original Hexed character still lived. You could obviously have short rested between the two castings
Gotcha, kill the NPC, I hear ya loud and clear!! haha ya that makes sense, I think thats how the spell is written, just wanted to check around to see if others changed it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hey all
I assume the answer is "No" but wanted to check.
If you were lvl 5 and did the classic cast Hex early morning and say picked Wisdom as your disadvantage and a couple hours later transferred Hex to an NPC in order to allow your Bard to deceive them and have them get disadvantage on their Insight check, can you then move Hex off of them after you're done? Or, because of the 0 HP note in the spell, you'd have to drop concentration and cast a new Hex spell if you wanted to change targets?
And if that is the case, would some DM's typically say its fine to move Hex even if the target doesn't drop to 0 HP or do you find most would stick to the wording?
Thanks
If it were my table I'd rule you would have to expire the original Hex (stop concentrating) and cast it again for the second effect if the original Hexed character still lived. You could obviously have short rested between the two castings
Gotcha, kill the NPC, I hear ya loud and clear!! haha ya that makes sense, I think thats how the spell is written, just wanted to check around to see if others changed it.