As one of the Archfey benefits, you get Fey Presence. Does the person you charmed know that you charmed them, like the text in the Charm Spell says? Or is the Fey Presence not do that?
Fey Presence Starting at 1st level, your patron bestows upon you the ability to project the beguiling and fearsome presence of the fey. As an action, you can cause each creature in a 10-foot cube originating from you to make a Wisdom saving throw against your warlock spell save DC. The creatures that fail their saving throws are all charmed or frightened by you (your choice) until the end of your next turn.
Once you use this feature, you can’t use it again until you finish a short or long rest.
Technically, the charmed creature would not be aware of being affected by a spell. The Charm Person spell, by contrast, states that the target creature IS aware of being charmed afterwards. However, if you are a player, it's best to ask your DM about their likeliness to rule one way or another if you are in the position of creating a new character.
I think if I were ruling this, I'd follow the very letter of the rule, no more no less. The charmed condition states:
Charmed
A charmed creature can't attack the charmer or target the charmer with harmful abilities or magical effects.
The charmer has advantage on any ability check to interact socially with the creature.
Nothing under the charmed condition says that the creature knows it's been charmed after the effect ends. Therefore, I would rule that the creature does not know it's been charmed.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
As one of the Archfey benefits, you get Fey Presence. Does the person you charmed know that you charmed them, like the text in the Charm Spell says? Or is the Fey Presence not do that?
Technically, the charmed creature would not be aware of being affected by a spell. The Charm Person spell, by contrast, states that the target creature IS aware of being charmed afterwards. However, if you are a player, it's best to ask your DM about their likeliness to rule one way or another if you are in the position of creating a new character.
I think if I were ruling this, I'd follow the very letter of the rule, no more no less. The charmed condition states:
Charmed
Nothing under the charmed condition says that the creature knows it's been charmed after the effect ends. Therefore, I would rule that the creature does not know it's been charmed.
Any time an unfathomably powerful entity sweeps in and offers godlike rewards in return for just a few teensy favors, it’s a scam. Unless it’s me. I’d never lie to you, reader dearest.
Tasha