These gauntlets - known to historians as the Spelleaters - are the bane of mages. They are made from reams of ancient scrolls, lightly inscribed with ancient draconic runes placed onto electrum gauntlets.
Dormant
The gauntlets grant the following benefits in their dormant state:
- The gauntlets have 3 charges, and regain 1d3 charges expended when the wearer completes a long rest. If you roll a 20 on the d20 for an ability check with this magic item, it regains a charge.
- While wearing these gauntlets, you can expend 1 or more charges to cast the counterspell, or dispel magic spells from it, using your spellcasting ability. For 1 charge, you cast the 3rd-level version of each spell. You can increase the spell slot level by one for each additional charge spent.
Awakened
The gauntlets grant the following benefits in their awakened state:
- The gauntlet's charges increase to a maximum of 6, and they regain 1d4 + 2 expended charges when the wearer completes a long rest.
- You have advantage on saving throws against spells and other magical effects while wearing these gauntlets.
- Whenever you successfully cast counterspell or dispel magic, you can choose to Leech the arcane energy targeted. You gain a number of hit points equal to 2 x the level of the spell you dispelled or countered, and gain resistance to the damage type of the spell until the end of your next turn, if it has a damage type.
Exalted
The gauntlets grant the following benefits in their exalted state:
- The gauntlet's charges increase to a maximum of 10, and they regain 1d6 + 4 expended charges when the wearer completes a long rest.
- Whenever you successfully cast counterspell or dispel magic, there are two new options you can manifest instead of Leech. Choose one of the following effects:
Spelleater. You steal a portion of the arcane energy for yourself. You regain a spell slot of 1st or 2nd-level
Backfire. A creature targeted by your counterspell or dispel magic must make a Dexterity saving throw against your spell save DC. On a failure, the target takes force damage equal to a number of d6s equal to the level of the spell dispelled or countered, or half as much damage on a success.
Notes: Advantage: Saving Throws, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard
Very interesting! I can imagine this as the prized possession of someone from the Arcana Pansophical, tasked with hunting rogue mages.
One thing to note is in the Leech feature, you say 'successfully cast'. Any time that I cast a spell and nothing stops me from finishing the casting (i.e. another counterspell) then I have successfully cast that spell. You may want to phrase it as 'When you cast Dispel Magic or Counterspell and successfully interrupt or end the target's spell...'. It may seem pedantic, but this could stop some rule-benders before they make their arguments.
That's absolutely true - these are items I take from my games and while I try to format and word properly, sometimes I simplify things and just trust that my players will understand when I tell them what an item is. "Rules as Intended, as Intended," is a personal mantra of mine, haha. However, I did add the "...of the spell you dispelled or countered..." though it's missing from the Spelleater feature. I'm glad you enjoyed it though, and that's not too far off from what I'll be using them for!
These are really cool! For sure going to be giving these to my sorcerer!