When this 4-foot-tall, 2-foot-wide mirror is viewed indirectly, its surface shows faint images of creatures. The mirror weighs 50 pounds, and it has AC 11, HP 10, Immunity to Poison and Psychic damage, and Vulnerability to Bludgeoning damage. It shatters and is destroyed when reduced to 0 Hit Points.
If the mirror is hanging on a vertical surface and you are within 5 feet of it, you can take a Magic action and use a command word to activate it. It remains activated until you take a Magic action and repeat the command word to deactivate it.
Any creature other than you that sees its reflection in the activated mirror while within 30 feet of the mirror must succeed on a DC 15 Charisma saving throw or be trapped, along with anything it is wearing or carrying, in one of the mirror’s twelve extradimensional cells. A creature that knows the mirror’s nature makes the save with Advantage, and Constructs succeed on the save automatically.
An extradimensional cell is an infinite expanse filled with thick fog that reduces visibility to 10 feet. Creatures trapped in the mirror’s cells don’t age, and they don’t need to eat, drink, or sleep. A creature trapped within a cell can escape using magic that permits planar travel. Otherwise, the creature is confined to the cell until freed.
If the mirror traps a creature but its twelve extradimensional cells are already occupied, the mirror frees one trapped creature at random to accommodate the new prisoner. A freed creature appears in an unoccupied space within sight of the mirror but facing away from it. If the mirror is shattered, all creatures it contains are freed and appear in unoccupied spaces near it.
While within 5 feet of the mirror, you can take a Magic action to name one creature trapped in it or call out a particular cell by number. The creature named or contained in the named cell appears as an image on the mirror’s surface. You and the creature can then communicate.
In a similar way, you can take a Magic action and use a second command word to free one creature trapped in the mirror. The freed creature appears, along with its possessions, in the unoccupied space nearest to the mirror and facing away from it.
Placing the mirror inside an extradimensional space created by a Bag of Holding, Portable Hole, or similar item instantly destroys both items and opens a gate to the Astral Plane. The gate originates where the one item was placed inside the other. Any creature within 10 feet of the gate and not behind Total Cover is sucked through it to a random location on the Astral Plane. The gate then closes. The gate is one-way only and can’t be reopened.







-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Feb 16, 2025Definately more difficult to transport for lower strength characters but still rather nice to trap creatures incapable of planar travel magic. Portable jail on the go.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 14, 2025Gonna try out a hand mirror version that can hold only one occupant.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Aug 28, 2025If a creature that has a Bag of Holding is sucked into this, it destroys both and creates the Astral Plane gate, right? Any kind of interaction between the multidimensional objects activates that effect, correct?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 24, 2025What happens if the mirror is smashed?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 17, 2025While that assumption is understandable (as usually the gate to the Astral Plane resulting from those interactions is specified to happen when either item is put inside the other), in this case only putting the mirror inside the Bag of Holding (or similar item) is specified to cause the gate and not the other way around.Following the principle of the rules doing what they say they do and seeing how for this item they purposefully left out the condition of entering the mirror with an extradimensional item, we can conclude that no gate to the Astral Plane would be created by a creature with a Bag of Holding being inside the mirror.EDIT: Just checked and neither the Bag of Holding nor the Portable Hole entries actually specify that the gate appears when either item is put inside the other. They mention only the item in question being put inside the other. The knowledge that either way causes the gate is derived from both entries referencing each other (same with the Handy Haversack). So we unfortunately can't determine the safety of entering the Mirror of Life Trapping with a Bag of Holding or similar item. It seems more likely that it would in fact destroy both items and cause the gate to the Astral Plane too.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 23, 2025So question, if the mirror is destroyed, does that then free all those trapped within or does that leave the mirror and all its "guests" destroyed? Or maybe lost to the void?