Search Results
All Results
Characters
Compendium
Spells
Items
Monsters
Vehicles
Forums
Returning 35 results for 'can can'.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden
Other Things Characters Can Do Characters who can’t harm the dragon (or choose not to) can find plenty of other things to distract them during the dragon’s attack. If a player is having trouble
figuring out what their character can or should do, you can use the Town in Chaos table to introduce an urgent development for the character to deal with. Before the character moves or acts on its turn
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden
Other Things Characters Can Do Characters who can’t harm the dragon (or choose not to) can find plenty of other things to distract them during the dragon’s attack. If a player is having trouble
figuring out what their character can or should do, you can use the Town in Chaos table to introduce an urgent development for the character to deal with. Before the character moves or acts on its turn
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can you have more than one background? No. You can have only one background. It establishes key aspects of your life before you embarked on a life of adventure.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can potions be administered to Unconscious characters? Yes, you can administer a potion to someone else as a Bonus Action.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can you have more than one background? No. You can have only one background. It establishes key aspects of your life before you embarked on a life of adventure.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can potions be administered to Unconscious characters? Yes, you can administer a potion to someone else as a Bonus Action.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can you move through the space of a Prone enemy? You can move through the space of an enemy only if that enemy (A) has the Incapacitated condition, (B) is a Tiny creature, or (C) is at least two sizes larger or smaller than you. The Prone condition doesn’t override this.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a non-Battle Master attempt to disarm someone? The Disarming Attack maneuver is designed for the Battle Master Fighter, but any character can try to disarm a foe. Such an attempt would fall under improvising an action not detailed by the rules and would be up to your DM to adjudicate.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a Blinded creature make an Opportunity Attack? An Opportunity Attack is triggered when a creature that you can see leaves your reach. If you can’t see an enemy, you can’t make an Opportunity
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
What’s an example of an effect that can reduce Exhaustion? The Greater Restoration spell can reduce Exhaustion.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can you move through the space of a Prone enemy? You can move through the space of an enemy only if that enemy (A) has the Incapacitated condition, (B) is a Tiny creature, or (C) is at least two sizes larger or smaller than you. The Prone condition doesn’t override this.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a Blinded creature make an Opportunity Attack? An Opportunity Attack is triggered when a creature that you can see leaves your reach. If you can’t see an enemy, you can’t make an Opportunity
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a Sphere of Annihilation enter a Leomund’s Tiny Hut? Yes. The sphere destroys the dome.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can you get a Critical Hit on an ability check? Ability checks don’t score Critical Hits. Attack rolls do.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a Barbarian/Fighter (Battle Master) use maneuvers while raging? Nothing in the Barbarian’s Rage feature precludes the use of maneuvers.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a Barbarian/Fighter (Battle Master) use maneuvers while raging? Nothing in the Barbarian’s Rage feature precludes the use of maneuvers.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Is the intent that only Melee weapon attacks can knock foes Unconscious, or can melee spell attacks as well? If you reduce a creature to 0 Hit Points with a melee attack, you can knock the creature
out. That melee attack isn’t restricted to weapons. Even a melee spell attack can be used to knock a creature out.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Is the intent that only Melee weapon attacks can knock foes Unconscious, or can melee spell attacks as well? If you reduce a creature to 0 Hit Points with a melee attack, you can knock the creature
out. That melee attack isn’t restricted to weapons. Even a melee spell attack can be used to knock a creature out.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
What’s an example of an effect that can reduce Exhaustion? The Greater Restoration spell can reduce Exhaustion.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a Rogue/Monk use Sneak Attack with Unarmed Strikes? The Sneak Attack feature works with a weapon that has the Finesse or Ranged property. An Unarmed Strike isn’t a weapon, so it doesn’t qualify
. In contrast, a Rogue/Monk can use Sneak Attack with a Monk weapon, such as a Shortsword or a Dagger, that has one of Sneak Attack’s required properties.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a Sphere of Annihilation enter a Leomund’s Tiny Hut? Yes. The sphere destroys the dome.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a Rogue/Monk use Sneak Attack with Unarmed Strikes? The Sneak Attack feature works with a weapon that has the Finesse or Ranged property. An Unarmed Strike isn’t a weapon, so it doesn’t qualify
. In contrast, a Rogue/Monk can use Sneak Attack with a Monk weapon, such as a Shortsword or a Dagger, that has one of Sneak Attack’s required properties.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a non-Battle Master attempt to disarm someone? The Disarming Attack maneuver is designed for the Battle Master Fighter, but any character can try to disarm a foe. Such an attempt would fall under improvising an action not detailed by the rules and would be up to your DM to adjudicate.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can you get a Critical Hit on an ability check? Ability checks don’t score Critical Hits. Attack rolls do.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
If a creature is Grappled, can it still attack and use its special abilities? The Grappled condition limits movement, not attacks, spellcasting, and the like. That said, many grappling abilities, such as a Giant Octopus’s Tentacles attack, also deliver effects like the Restrained condition.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a creature that burrows grapple a target and drag them into the ground by burrowing? No. A burrowing creature can drag another creature with them only if they have the ability to leave a tunnel
. For example, a Purple Worm has the Tunneler trait, so it can drag a Grappled creature into a tunnel it creates when burrowing. Conversely, an Earth Elemental can’t drag a creature into the ground with it.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
What actions can monsters use to make Opportunity Attack? Are Multiattack and breath weapon actions allowed? When making an Opportunity Attack, a monster can make any single melee attack listed in
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can you delay your turn and take it later in the round? No. When it’s your turn, you either do something or you don’t. If you want to wait to act in response to something, take the Ready action. (See appendix C of the Player’s Handbook.)
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can an Opportunity Attack be used to make a grapple or a shove? Yes. When you make an Opportunity Attack, one of your options is making an Unarmed Strike. You can still choose to use the Grapple and Shove options of this Unarmed Strike.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
What actions can monsters use to make Opportunity Attack? Are Multiattack and breath weapon actions allowed? When making an Opportunity Attack, a monster can make any single melee attack listed in
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can an Opportunity Attack be used to make a grapple or a shove? Yes. When you make an Opportunity Attack, one of your options is making an Unarmed Strike. You can still choose to use the Grapple and Shove options of this Unarmed Strike.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can you delay your turn and take it later in the round? No. When it’s your turn, you either do something or you don’t. If you want to wait to act in response to something, take the Ready action. (See appendix C of the Player’s Handbook.)
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can a creature that burrows grapple a target and drag them into the ground by burrowing? No. A burrowing creature can drag another creature with them only if they have the ability to leave a tunnel
. For example, a Purple Worm has the Tunneler trait, so it can drag a Grappled creature into a tunnel it creates when burrowing. Conversely, an Earth Elemental can’t drag a creature into the ground with it.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can damage be reduced to 0 by Resistance or another form of damage reduction? Yes, it is possible to reduce damage to 0 but no lower.
Compendium
- Sources->Dungeons & Dragons->Sage Advice & Errata
Can damage be reduced to 0 by Resistance or another form of damage reduction? Yes, it is possible to reduce damage to 0 but no lower.