Level
1st
Casting Time
1 Bonus Action
Range/Area
30 ft.
Components
V, S, M *
Duration
1 Minute
School
Abjuration
Attack/Save
WIS Save
Damage/Effect
Buff (...)
You ward a creature within range against attack. Until the spell ends, any creature who targets the warded creature with an attack or a harmful spell must first make a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, the creature must choose a new target or lose the attack or spell. This spell doesn't protect the warded creature from area effects, such as the explosion of a fireball.
If the warded creature makes an attack, casts a spell that affects an enemy, or deals damage to another creature, this spell ends.
* - (a small silver mirror)






-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted May 6, 2024I would say yes, they can. If they attempt the attack and fail the save, they have two choices: a) waste that attack, or b) use that attack against someone else. The only reason they would choose the former is if they aren't any other valid targets in range.
Either way, they can still try to attack the original target with their second attack if they want. They have to attempt a second Wisdom saving throw and go through the whole process again, which could result in the second attack being wasted as well. I don't think this is contrary to the intent of this spell, it's just part of the benefits of having multiple attacks per action.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted May 28, 2024So essentially, this is the ultimate solution to "escort the NPC" quests, or party favorites dying.
Not only that, but it can be used to protect familiars, or more importantly for paladins; mounts.
I imagine that with mounted combatant, light barding, and this, your horse will be rather difficult to target.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 3, 2024Situation: An attacker wishes to move up to a player with Sanctuary and use an Attack Action to hit him with an axe. The attacker gets two attacks per Attack Action. The attacker then plans to use a Bonus Action to cast Spiritual Weapon to again attack the defender with Sanctuary.
Question 1: If the Attacker makes his initial WIS SAVE against Sanctuary, does he get to make both attack rolls, or does he need a second WIS SAVE to get the second attack roll in?
Question 2: If the Attacker made his Initial WIS SAVE and made his melee attacks, would he need a second WIS SAVE to cast Spiritual Weapon afterwards, or does the first successful save essentially end the spells protection against all future attacks by that attacker?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 4, 20241. Each attack requires a separate Wisdom saving throw. This is because the spell says "targets the warded creature with an attack", which is something you're doing twice in this scenario. It would say something like "uses the Attack action against the warded creature" if it were meant to be a single saving throw.
2. You would not need to make a saving throw just to cast Spiritual Weapon, but you would need to make a saving throw each time you actually want to attack with it. I don't think casting Spiritual Weapon counts as "targeting the warded creature with a harmful spell" because that spell doesn't actually target anything, it just conjures up something. You can try to attack with it as part of the same bonus action, and then you would need to make a saving throw.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 10, 2024So the components are verbal, somatic, and material. Do I have to do all of them or can I just do verbal and not have the material
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 12, 2024You get a Sanctuary and you get a sanctuary, everyone gets a sanctuary
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 26, 2024But why a small silver mirror?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jul 31, 2025Funny enough. you can still grapple with this spell or shove, sinc ethose arent attacks or cause damage on thier own.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 13, 2025ran into a situation today, I would like to ask for a review of the ruling on table. I'll try to break it down.
1. Familiar A has sanctuary and is 5ft from monster 1
2. Familiar B is 30ft in the air and 20ft away from monster 1
3. Monster 1 attacks Familiar A (sanctuary) "**with a melee attack with a dagger**" and THEN fails sanctuary save.
a. I believe at this point, Monster 1 has to switch targets (with his attack, which was melee attack using a dagger or lose the attack).
b. However, instead the DM switched attack to ranged thrown dagger and kills Familiar B who was 30ft up and 20ft away.
In this scenario, I believe that he is held to his initial attack of melee dagger attack, and since no other target was in range, he could not then switch attacks and throw his dagger at another target, thus losing his attack. To be clear, he WAS using the "same weapon" for the attack, just switched from melee attack to thrown weapon attack, thus "changing his original attack method"
What do you all think?