You create a floating, spectral weapon within range that lasts for the duration or until you cast this spell again. When you cast the spell, you can make a melee spell attack against a creature within 5 feet of the weapon. On a hit, the target takes force damage equal to 1d8 + your spellcasting ability modifier.
As a bonus action on your turn, you can move the weapon up to 20 feet and repeat the attack against a creature within 5 feet of it.
The weapon can take whatever form you choose. Clerics of deities who are associated with a particular weapon (as St. Cuthbert is known for his mace and Thor for his hammer) make this spell's effect resemble that weapon.
At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 3rd level or higher, the damage increases by 1d8 for every two slot levels above 2nd.
Not how it works. You can’t wield it to throw it, and it can only attack once as a bonus action (movement is part of that if you choose but it ). You can still use an action to cast a cantrip or make a regular weapon attack (or something else an action allows).
No because it's a bonus action to cast. You don't have two bonus actions.
since it can take whatever form, do you think this could be used outside of combat like a green lantern construct or a less flexible mage hand? my cleric is an artist and would want to try every medium possible, including making a spiritual weapon in the shape of flowers or chickens or something like that
It is a funny spell for me
Something wacky came up with this a few sessions ago. The party was about to engage an enemy that was in a room at the north end of a corridor that went east/west. The cleric cast SW and hit the enemy in the room then ran down the hallway, putting him out of sight of the room where he cast it (to give the tanks more freedom in front). On the enemy's turn I had the monster use it's movement to go away from the SW. On the cleric's turn, he rolled to hit but when I told him that he missed despite rolling high because the monster moved away from the SW, he said that the SW would have moved toward the monster since it acts like a Roomba and moves towards a target within 20'.
I hadn't had this spell cast before at my table and everything stopped while I read through the spell and made a ruling that:
1. since it says "you can move the weapon up to 20 feet" that the SW is NOT autonomous in any way and
2. SW is 100% actively controlled by the caster and since the caster couldn't see into the room he couldn't move the SW with any certainty that if the monster was still within 5' of the SW and
3. If the SW was still within 5' of the monster, the attack would be at disadvantage since the player was down the hall and therefore attacking blind.
I'm right, right?
I will do that right away!
it can be an arrow or a bow that just whacks
yes floating smashing book the best kind
no a round lasts 6 seconds you think everyone's going to politely wait for you?