Level
1st
Casting Time
1 Reaction *
Range/Area
Self
Components
S
Duration
1 Round
School
Abjuration
Attack/Save
None
Damage/Effect
Acid (...)
The spell captures some of the incoming energy, lessening its effect on you and storing it for your next melee attack. You have resistance to the triggering damage type until the start of your next turn. Also, the first time you hit with a melee attack on your next turn, the target takes an extra 1d6 damage of the triggering type, and the spell ends.
At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 2nd level or higher, the extra damage increases by 1d6 for each slot level above 1st.
* - which you take when you take acid, cold, fire, lightning, or thunder damage






-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Aug 18, 2021So pretty much works on everything except poison, psychic, and radiant?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Aug 24, 2021And bludgeoning, piercing, slashing, force, and necrotic.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 1, 2021Say you have natural resistance to an elemental damage type (like a Genasi) and you use this spell on top of it. Would you have wasted the spell or would the double resistance superpose into a single round of immunity?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 4, 2021resistance ONLY
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 17, 2021You either have resistance or you don't; there's no such thing as double resistance in the official rules. Getting resistance to the same damage type from two different sources still just means you have resistance, and when you have resistance you take half damage. So yes, it would be a wasted spell (assuming you don't have any use for the extra damage on your melee attack).
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 22, 2021To upgrade this ability you have to use the spell : Beelzebub elementalus
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 23, 2021Why doesn't this spell work against poison damage? Isn't poison also considered elemental?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 27, 2021I am using this spell but since I didn't read the description our party just thought it absorbs and element and if I succeeded I absorb the element making fire go out, kill a tree, ect, but then I'd be able to use the element I absorb, I failed really bad once and made a radios of dead plants like a radios of 30ft. So me not reading the description made a brand new spell, good thing I can say that I totally meant to do that and say it's home brew. Has anyone else accidentally made home brew?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 18, 2021Hey all curious if there is a ruling on how this would be effective with none damaging spells like fairy fire or with potions being thrown at it is that considered a type of energy
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 18, 2021O feitiço captura parte da energia recebida, diminuindo seu efeito em você e armazenando-a para seu próximo ataque corpo a corpo. Você tem resistência ao tipo de dano desencadeante até o início de seu próximo turno. Além disso, na primeira vez que você acerta com um ataque corpo a corpo no próximo turno, o alvo sofre 1d6 de dano extra do tipo de ativação e o feitiço termina.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 26, 2021Because sadly there's not water damage in D&D
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Dec 9, 2021Am I correct in thinking that you would not be able to use this when being hit with Shocking Grasp?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 9, 2022thought i would ask here as i cannot find anything on this. i am playing an evocation mage atm and another player is a ranger. he has taken absorb elements and i would like to know if i for example used fire ball on him and then used my sculpt spell to stop him from taking damage would he still get the extra damage from absorb elements or does he need to take damage for the spell to work?.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 31, 2022The trigger is: * - which you take when you take acid, cold, fire, lightning, or thunder damage
The ranger must take at least 1 point of one of the listed types to use this as a reaction.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Feb 22, 2022That is correct. Shocking Grasp would hit the target, and the target would be unable to make reactions as part of that spell attack. Since Absorb Elements is a reaction to cast, it isn't possible to cast it in response to the damage from Shocking Grasp.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 12, 2022Depends your DM. We do that in my campaigns usually.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 12, 2022Depends on how your DM handles it. They may not stack and still just be half. Which kind of limits the spell for those characters.
Typically in the campaigns I DM, they do stack, so yes it would be quarter damage.
some people do double resistance as immunity which I think is too overpowered. Remember it should be consistent so if the PCs get this so do NPCs.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Mar 12, 2022Grants resistance (so it does half damage)
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted May 7, 2022not against saving throws though
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jun 6, 2022Can you use this to put out a fire?