Level
6th
Casting Time
1 Action
Range/Area
Self
(10 ft. )
Components
V, S, M *
Duration
Concentration
1 Minute
School
Abjuration
Attack/Save
None
Damage/Effect
Negation (...)
An immobile, shimmering barrier appears in a 10-foot Emanation around you and remains for the duration.
Any spell of level 5 or lower cast from outside the barrier can’t affect anything within it. Such a spell can target creatures and objects within the barrier, but the spell has no effect on them. Similarly, the area within the barrier is excluded from areas of effect created by such spells.
Using a Higher-Level Spell Slot. The barrier blocks spells of 1 level higher for each spell slot level above 6.
* - (a glass bead)
Feels like an unnecessary nerf to remove "even if the spell is cast using a higher level spell slot." Players didn't pick it up, and monsters would die or be pushed out of the globe before this was ever impactful to begin with.
Took a mediocre spell and made it terrible. Good job.
So now the globe moves with the caster i don't belive it did before
It still says "immobile"
This spell is absolutely amazing. It was already insanely strong before but it's still really good. Losing the upcast protection isn't great but most monsters can't upcast and when a monster uses this spell, players upcasting just to effect a monster because of one spell that forces them to waste 6th level and higher slots just to cast lower level spells is really great. Also, unlike antimagic field, you can still cast spells yourself while it's active. In fact, it might be a better idea to just upcast this to level 8 instead of using antimagic field in the majority of cases.
Is it just spells or physical too?
Just spells. The name is a bit misleading.
just imagine if someone casts Wall of Force around you in an 8-foot sphere and you upcast this this spell at level 9. Even disintegrate wouldn't be able to destroy the wall since the disintegrate spell would hit the Globe before it hits the Wall so it fizzles out.
Where exactly says that moves with the caster?
It doesn't, actually, but it's easy to misread it that it does.
The area of effect is specified as a 10-foot Emanation centered on the caster. The general rules on Emanations are that they move with the creature or object that they're centered on, unless the spell explicitly says otherwise. This one does say otherwise; it says the barrier is immobile right at the beginning.