One creature or loose object of your choice that you can see within range rises vertically up to 20 feet and remains suspended there for the duration. The spell can levitate an object that weighs up to 500 pounds. An unwilling creature that succeeds on a Constitution saving throw is unaffected.
The target can move only by pushing or pulling against a fixed object or surface within reach (such as a wall or a ceiling), which allows it to move as if it were climbing. You can change the target’s altitude by up to 20 feet in either direction on your turn. If you are the target, you can move up or down as part of your move. Otherwise, you can take a Magic action to move the target, which must remain within the spell’s range.
When the spell ends, the target floats gently to the ground if it is still aloft.
* - (a metal spring)
2014 text states: "The spell can levitate a target that weighs up to 500 pounds."
Target could refer to a creature or object.
2024 text states: "The spell can levitate an object that weighs up to 500 pounds."
The spell can still target creatures but creatures are no longer weight limited. There's no stated size limitation either. You can (theoretically) levitate a Tarrasque, granted it has a +10 bonus to CON saves, and has advantage on saves against magical effects, and has 3 legendary resistances to burn per day so you probably won't actually levitate a Tarrasque... But it can still theoretically be done!
If the mage Levitates, can its flying familiar (in my case, a hawk) pull it along? Or is inertia still a thing with this spell (i.e. the hawk can't shift the 150lbs of floating mage, because it's still 150 lbs of "don't move")?
if you had a very very long stick with 20 feet of reach could you use it to move?
Sure. Carrying around a 20-foot long stick may be a bit of a challenge, though.
Just super glue two Poles of Collapsing together.
sorry doesn't work like that. A creature is still considered an object as the target, so no lifting up the tarrasque because he weighs way more than 500 pounds.
Living creatures aren't objects, though. There's a very clear distinction between those things in D&D rules — "object" is explicitly defined as something nonliving.