You activate one of the effects below. Until the spell ends, you can activate either effect as a Magic action on your later turns.
Sense Thoughts. You sense the presence of thoughts within 30 feet of yourself that belong to creatures that know languages or are telepathic. You don’t read the thoughts, but you know that a thinking creature is present.
The spell is blocked by 1 foot of stone, dirt, or wood; 1 inch of metal; or a thin sheet of lead.
Read Thoughts. Target one creature you can see within 30 feet of yourself or one creature within 30 feet of yourself that you detected with the Sense Thoughts option. You learn what is most on the target’s mind right now. If the target doesn’t know any languages and isn’t telepathic, you learn nothing.
As a Magic action on your next turn, you can try to probe deeper into the target’s mind. If you probe deeper, the target makes a Wisdom saving throw. On a failed save, you discern the target’s reasoning, emotions, and something that looms large in its mind (such as a worry, love, or hate). On a successful save, the spell ends. Either way, the target knows that you are probing into its mind, and until you shift your attention away from the target’s mind, the target can take an action on its turn to make an Intelligence (Arcana) check against your spell save DC, ending the spell on a success.
* - (1 Copper Piece)






-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 10, 2024A copper for your thoughts.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 13, 2024Came here to say this. Was beaten.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 8, 2024I love reading the material components and trying to figure out the thing it comes from. In this case, 'a penny for your thoughts' is the single copper piece, obviously, or how a fleece of wool for an illusion spell is like 'pulling the wool over their eyes'. Nice little touch the designers give, much appreciated.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 4, 2024Question on the Read thoughts action in particular this line. "If the target doesn’t know any languages and isn’t telepathic, you learn nothing." If the target does know a language and isn't telepathic, would you still learn something? The way its written to me implies that they need to know a language (which makes sense) but also need to be telepathic. Is that the correct understanding?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 14, 2024The line you quoted is saying a creature that has no language and isn't a telepath can not convey any meaningful thoughts. Under the rules of telepathy (pg. 376 PHB), it states "the contacted creature doesn't need to share a language with the telepath to understand this communication, but the contacted creature must be able to understand at least one language or be telepathic itself to understand."
With Detect Thoughts, you can understand:
- a creature that isn't telepathic but knows at least one language
- a creature that is telepathic but does not know any language
- a creature that is telepathic and knows at least one language
At least that is my understanding!
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Nov 15, 2024That's what I think it would have been as well. But just the way it's worded made it seem like they had to be both. Speak a language and be telepathic. I don't think I would have had this issue if it was and/or. But I'll play it the same way that you've got down.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 9, 2025I'm pretty sure this is a typographical error:
It likely should read: "If the target doesn’t know any languages or isn’t telepathic, you learn nothing."
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 10, 2025I think it's meant to say "and" because that means the creature either needs to be telepathic or understand a language to have it's mind read.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Jan 31, 2025No, "and" is the correct word there. The spell doesn't work on a creature that both doesn't know any languages and isn't telepathic.
Changing it to "or" would mean that it would only ever work on a creature that was already telepathic, which would make the spell mostly useless.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Feb 13, 2025I still believe that this spell having obvious material, somatic, and verbal components is a really weird choice. Like, the point if the spell is obviously to covertly read someone's mind, but RAW that's impossible without the telepathic feat or one of the many features that you cast it without components.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Feb 27, 20251. It nerfs it so you can't just abuse it as you're talking to their face without one of those many features. I'm assuming that learning their thoughts would grant you some bonus to the Influence action, though as far as I know that would be an adjudication, rather than written rule. And I don't think many people would take kindly to seeing you casting a spell on them at all, let alone one that reads their thoughts.
2. The ideal moment to cast this (without those features) would be when the target is looking in a direction other than yours, and is far enough and/or the crowd is loud enough to where if you state the verbal component you won't be heard, and you won't be noticed performing the somatic component. Unless you have the target at your mercy already that is likely the only realistic time you would want to cast it without being an "Invisible Detector" anyway.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Sep 12, 2025Ah, the and/or conundrum. The great debate in seemingly all realms of law.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 4, 2025Hey, can a spell casting focus cast this spell, or is one copper piece a component with a cost?
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 6, 2025A good question. It doesn't use the typical language for costly spell components — "worth at least X gp" — but it is, in itself, a piece of money, so I think it could go either way.
The specific component in this case is mostly a joke (i.e., "penny for your thoughts") and it's such a tiny amount of money that it doesn't really serve the purpose that most costly components serve (i.e., discouraging players from casting it constantly) so if I were DMing I would not have any problem with letting someone use a focus for it.
-
View User Profile
-
Send Message
Posted Oct 6, 2025Yea, my DM just removes the component all together.