Level
                        
                        
                            6th
                        
                    
                            Casting Time
                        
                        
                            1 Action 
                            
                        
                    
                            Range/Area
                        
                        
                            5 ft.
                            
                        
                    
                            Components
                        
                        
                            
                            V
                        
                    Duration
                        
                            Instantaneous
                        
                    
                            School
                        
                        
                            Conjuration
                        
                    
                            Attack/Save
                        
                        
                            
                            None
                        
                    
                            Damage/Effect
                        
                        
                            Teleportation
                            
                        
                    You and up to five willing creatures within 5 feet of you instantly teleport to a previously designated sanctuary. You and any creatures that teleport with you appear in the nearest unoccupied space to the spot you designated when you prepared your sanctuary (see below). If you cast this spell without first preparing a sanctuary, the spell has no effect.
You must designate a location, such as a temple, as a sanctuary by casting this spell there.







 
     
                        
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Feb 3, 2025https://www.dndbeyond.com/spells/2304-word-of-recall
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Feb 20, 2025Does it cost a spell slot to designate the sanctuary as well as casting a spell slot to recall?
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Feb 21, 2025Yes. You have to cast the spell twice — once to designate the sanctuary, and once to recall — and so you need two spell slots.
However, there's no limit on how much time can pass between those two things happening. And, casting it the second time doesn't remove the designated sanctuary, so if you want to recall to the same place again, you don't need to designate the same place again first.
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Mar 20, 2025So now you don't have to choose a location dedicated to your deity as your sanctuary, you can just choose your home base. This is a good "panic button" spell if you and your party is in grave danger and need to escape.
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Mar 25, 2025Or even just a quick way home after a lengthy journey. Especially since unlike, say, Teleport, it doesn't cost anything apart from the spell slot.
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Apr 22, 2025Teleport doesn't cost anything either
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted May 1, 2025You're right, I was getting Teleport and Gate mixed up.
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted May 28, 2025It doesn't say the cleric chooses who gets to "teleport", only that up to 5 willing creatures within 5' can. Does this mean that an enemy within 5' can choose to be willing to go along for the ride?
If 7 creatures are within 5' of the caster and they all choose to go (to avoid an incoming high damage AoE), is who gets to go left up to Initiative order?
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Jun 2, 2025Can I have multiple designated sanctuaries.
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Jun 2, 2025Sure, I don't see anything in the spell that says you can't. You do have to cast the spell in each one separately to set them up.
- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Jul 4, 2025- 
            
                
                View User Profile
     
            
            
            
       
- 
            
                
                Send Message
     
            
            
            
       
Posted Jul 21, 2025What you're looking for is in the Rules Glossary under "Simultaneous Effects", which is here. It says that if multiple things are happening at the same time, the person whose turn it is gets to decide what order they happen in.
That said, I think what's relevant for this question is that the general rules on spellcasting say that the caster of a spell chooses the targets of a spell unless the spell says otherwise, which this one doesn't, so enemies can't become targets of the spell if the caster doesn't want them to.