My artificer is at level 11 and I thinking about what spell to use for my spell storing items. The text says you can store a 1st or 2nd level spell in a weapon or spell casting focus.
My query is could one store a 2nd Level Cure Wounds in the object?
No, you can store a spell of 1st or 2nd level but upcasting does not apply.
The Spell-Storing Item does not cast a spell with a spell slot nor does it store a spell as it is cast like a Ring of Spell Storing.
An upcast 2nd level Cure Wounds spell is a 2nd level spell. There is no language that restricts you from casting that or another upcast spell into a spell storing item, including a Ring of Spell Storing. The Ring of Spell Storing explicitly states: the level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses. You are reading rules that do not exist.
No, you can store a spell of 1st or 2nd level but upcasting does not apply.
The Spell-Storing Item does not cast a spell with a spell slot nor does it store a spell as it is cast like a Ring of Spell Storing.
An upcast 2nd level Cure Wounds spell is a 2nd level spell. There is no language that restricts you from casting that or another upcast spell into a spell storing item, including a Ring of Spell Storing. The Ring of Spell Storing explicitly states: the level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses. You are reading rules that do not exist.
You're talking about two different things.
This thread is about the level 11 Artificer class feature "Spell-Storing Item", which does not involve using a spell slot to store a spell in it, and therefore can't benefit from upcasting a spell.
You are talking about the magic item Ring of Spell Storing, which does involve using a spell slot to store a spell in it, and therefore can benefit from upcasting a spell.
Hello all,
My artificer is at level 11 and I thinking about what spell to use for my spell storing items. The text says you can store a 1st or 2nd level spell in a weapon or spell casting focus.
My query is could one store a 2nd Level Cure Wounds in the object?
No, you can store a spell of 1st or 2nd level but upcasting does not apply.
The Spell-Storing Item does not cast a spell with a spell slot nor does it store a spell as it is cast like a Ring of Spell Storing.
An upcast 2nd level Cure Wounds spell is a 2nd level spell. There is no language that restricts you from casting that or another upcast spell into a spell storing item, including a Ring of Spell Storing. The Ring of Spell Storing explicitly states: the level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses. You are reading rules that do not exist.
You're talking about two different things.
This thread is about the level 11 Artificer class feature "Spell-Storing Item", which does not involve using a spell slot to store a spell in it, and therefore can't benefit from upcasting a spell.
You are talking about the magic item Ring of Spell Storing, which does involve using a spell slot to store a spell in it, and therefore can benefit from upcasting a spell.
pronouns: he/she/they