So if you create a magic item then you can attune to it immediately.
If you use the "transmute magic item" from the Level 6 feature, can you attune to it immediately? I think so because you're still creating a magic item. Just checking with y'all.
This is an interesting question that I don't think there is a clear and obvious RAW answer to. I think you basically can look at it one of two ways:
1. Transmuting a magic item is effectively creating a new one, and therefore it follows all the rules of creating a magic item, including you being able to attune to it instantly. The tradeoff is that because we're treating this as a new item, if someone else was attuned to it before, they no longer are, and because they didn't create it, they now need to spend a short rest attuning to the new thing.
or
2. Transmuting a magic item is just altering an existing item, not creating a new one. Therefore, whoever was attuned to it before you transmute it (if anyone) is still attuned after you transmute it, so there's no need for them to attune again (instantly or otherwise). The tradeoff is that because you're not creating a new item, if you didn't attune to it before, you now have to spend a full short rest doing it.
#2 makes a little more narrative sense to me right at this moment, but I think either way is reasonable.
Short version is yes, you can attune to it immediately. But you still have to be cognizant of attunement slots, since this feature doesn't affect your max. For ease of use, its good to plan around what you swap, and how often you'd need to, incase your load out would force you to shuffle attunements. Like I have a weapon of warning in my normal loadout, which I can then convert to Necklace of Adaptation or Mind Shaprener if the situation demands it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So if you create a magic item then you can attune to it immediately.
If you use the "transmute magic item" from the Level 6 feature, can you attune to it immediately? I think so because you're still creating a magic item. Just checking with y'all.
This is an interesting question that I don't think there is a clear and obvious RAW answer to. I think you basically can look at it one of two ways:
1. Transmuting a magic item is effectively creating a new one, and therefore it follows all the rules of creating a magic item, including you being able to attune to it instantly. The tradeoff is that because we're treating this as a new item, if someone else was attuned to it before, they no longer are, and because they didn't create it, they now need to spend a short rest attuning to the new thing.
or
2. Transmuting a magic item is just altering an existing item, not creating a new one. Therefore, whoever was attuned to it before you transmute it (if anyone) is still attuned after you transmute it, so there's no need for them to attune again (instantly or otherwise). The tradeoff is that because you're not creating a new item, if you didn't attune to it before, you now have to spend a full short rest doing it.
#2 makes a little more narrative sense to me right at this moment, but I think either way is reasonable.
pronouns: he/she/they
Short version is yes, you can attune to it immediately. But you still have to be cognizant of attunement slots, since this feature doesn't affect your max. For ease of use, its good to plan around what you swap, and how often you'd need to, incase your load out would force you to shuffle attunements. Like I have a weapon of warning in my normal loadout, which I can then convert to Necklace of Adaptation or Mind Shaprener if the situation demands it.