Why do you need to concentrate to cast the 9th level Gate spell? The creature is instantly summoned, so why the need to maintain the concentration of the spell? The entity, once summoned, is free to decide to help, harm, or got back home. The spell duration should be instant and end. You dont need to maintain concentration to have control over the entity, its free to act on its own when summoned.
"When you cast this spell, you can speak the name of a specific creature (a pseudonym, title, or nickname doesn’t work). If that creature is on a plane other than the one you are on, the portal opens in the named creature’s immediate vicinity and draws the creature through it to the nearest unoccupied space on your side of the portal."
Components: V, S, M (a diamond worth at least 5,000 gp)
Duration: Concentration, up to 1 minute
You conjure a portal linking an unoccupied space you can see within range to a precise location on a different plane of existence. The portal is a circular opening, which you can make 5 to 20 feet in diameter. You can orient the portal in any direction you choose. The portal lasts for the duration.
The portal has a front and a back on each plane where it appears. Travel through the portal is possible only by moving through its front. Anything that does so is instantly transported to the other plane, appearing in the unoccupied space nearest to the portal.
Deities and other planar rulers can prevent portals created by this spell from opening in their presence or anywhere within their domains.
When you cast this spell, you can speak the name of a specific creature (a pseudonym, title, or nickname doesn’t work). If that creature is on a plane other than the one you are on, the portal opens in the named creature’s immediate vicinity and draws the creature through it to the nearest unoccupied space on your side of the portal. You gain no special power over the creature, and it is free to act as the DM deems appropriate. It might leave, attack you, or help you.
I think the concentration part is more about using the gate for planar travel. You can use it to summon something, but you don’t have to, you can also use it to go places.
It's interesting that you post the text of the spell yet also seem to have not read 2/3 of it.
You make a portal that lets you and others go back and forth between the plane you're on and the one you choose. "The portal lasts for the duration."
You "can" (not "must") choose a creature, instead of another location, and the gate opens near them and draws them through. It's an option, not the whole function.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Why do you need to concentrate to cast the 9th level Gate spell? The creature is instantly summoned, so why the need to maintain the concentration of the spell? The entity, once summoned, is free to decide to help, harm, or got back home. The spell duration should be instant and end. You dont need to maintain concentration to have control over the entity, its free to act on its own when summoned.
"When you cast this spell, you can speak the name of a specific creature (a pseudonym, title, or nickname doesn’t work). If that creature is on a plane other than the one you are on, the portal opens in the named creature’s immediate vicinity and draws the creature through it to the nearest unoccupied space on your side of the portal."
Gate
9th-level conjuration
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: 60 feet
Components: V, S, M (a diamond worth at least 5,000 gp)
Duration: Concentration, up to 1 minute
You conjure a portal linking an unoccupied space you can see within range to a precise location on a different plane of existence. The portal is a circular opening, which you can make 5 to 20 feet in diameter. You can orient the portal in any direction you choose. The portal lasts for the duration.
The portal has a front and a back on each plane where it appears. Travel through the portal is possible only by moving through its front. Anything that does so is instantly transported to the other plane, appearing in the unoccupied space nearest to the portal.
Deities and other planar rulers can prevent portals created by this spell from opening in their presence or anywhere within their domains.
When you cast this spell, you can speak the name of a specific creature (a pseudonym, title, or nickname doesn’t work). If that creature is on a plane other than the one you are on, the portal opens in the named creature’s immediate vicinity and draws the creature through it to the nearest unoccupied space on your side of the portal. You gain no special power over the creature, and it is free to act as the DM deems appropriate. It might leave, attack you, or help you.
I think the concentration part is more about using the gate for planar travel. You can use it to summon something, but you don’t have to, you can also use it to go places.
It's interesting that you post the text of the spell yet also seem to have not read 2/3 of it.
You make a portal that lets you and others go back and forth between the plane you're on and the one you choose. "The portal lasts for the duration."
You "can" (not "must") choose a creature, instead of another location, and the gate opens near them and draws them through. It's an option, not the whole function.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Gate require you to maintain concentration in order to keep its magic active because the portal lasts for the duration