So, this is very situational moment but myself and another DM saw different rulings on this. Where it almost came up is me and an ally were within 30 feet of 2 Mind Flayers, he was stunned and grappled by one, I however was not. If the Mind Flayer had on the following turn used it's Extract Brain attack, could I have used the cloud rune to make the attack hit the other Mind Flayer instead?
His point of view as that it has to target an incapacitated and grappled humanoid, but I said the attack roll is already made and it just changes who the target is it doesn't make a different attack. It didn't get a final ruling because my ally broke outta stun on his next turn. Just curious if anyone else had any other thoughts or specific rulings that would make it more clear to either of us. Thanks.
I think it would work. It’s an attack roll, and it transfers to a different target. Cloud rune says it work regardless of range. I can see the argument that the other mind flayer is not grappled, but cloud rune says it transfers the attack’s effects.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So, this is very situational moment but myself and another DM saw different rulings on this. Where it almost came up is me and an ally were within 30 feet of 2 Mind Flayers, he was stunned and grappled by one, I however was not. If the Mind Flayer had on the following turn used it's Extract Brain attack, could I have used the cloud rune to make the attack hit the other Mind Flayer instead?
His point of view as that it has to target an incapacitated and grappled humanoid, but I said the attack roll is already made and it just changes who the target is it doesn't make a different attack. It didn't get a final ruling because my ally broke outta stun on his next turn. Just curious if anyone else had any other thoughts or specific rulings that would make it more clear to either of us. Thanks.
I think it would work. It’s an attack roll, and it transfers to a different target. Cloud rune says it work regardless of range. I can see the argument that the other mind flayer is not grappled, but cloud rune says it transfers the attack’s effects.