Strategy: Cast Simulacrum, then cast True Polymorph on your copy transforming it into a Adult Gold Dragon or a something else that you want to be. Then using the dragon's Change Shape into a humanoid or using Arcanist's Magic Aura's Mask option which reads as: "You choose a creature type and other spells and magical effects treat the target as if it were a creature of that type or of that alignment" to turn the target into a humanoid for all intents and purposes you can finally cast the Magic Jar spell possessing said creature. While possessing said creature lower your HP and cast the Clone spell then Power Word Kill yourself so you die as that creature and transport into the clone becoming finally the creature you wanted to be permanently with all your class levels, class features and spells becoming incredibly overpowered.
Mind you The Magnus Opus strategy works by RAW and honestly it while may seem convoluted it's quite streamline at least I think as these spells in there smaller interactions work together but when all combined form a streamline timeline of events with the only outlier being the Power Word Kill to make sure you die as that creature to permanentize the effects of the combo.
Clone doesn't work with Magic Jar - 'if the original creature dies, its soul transfers to the clone, provided that the soul is free and willing to return.' You aren't the original creature, ergo you don't get to go to the clone. You either go back to the jar, or use a clone of your original body to cheat death.
Answer: While it may seem weird to you but it does work look again at the Magic Jar and [spell{Clone[/spell] spells. I’ll quote the parts I’m talking about.
Magic Jar: “Once you possess a creature's body, you control it. Your game statistics are replaced by the statistics of the creature, though you retain your alignment and your Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores. You retain the benefit of your own class features. If the target has any class levels, you can't use any of its class features.“
Clone: “At any time after the clone matures, if the original creature dies, its soul transfers to the clone, provided that the soul is free and willing to return. The clone is physically identical to the original and has the same personality, memories, and abilities, but none of the original's equipment.”
Anyways what I’m trying to say with magic jar you become the creature as your soul inhabits it and you control it. Additionally the reason why when we have to cast [spell{Power Word Kill[/spell], or [spell{Disintegrate[/spell] on us after we become the creature with magic jar is so the wizard’s soul dies as that creature and therefore transfers into a cloned body. While there is more I could go into I just wanna say yes it does work and if you still don’t think so I’ll post again in a bit.
The sim-wish does work as advertised. The only reason it doesn’t is if the dm decides they want game balance to remain. And the main thing doesn’t really depend on subclass either. True polymorph and shapechange are unfightable. The top ones simply are better than average at surviving to do it or at going first and doing it before the fighter reacts. The illusionist isn’t better than most at either. I can’t really add to the magic jar debate though.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Royalty among the charge kingdom. All will fall before our glorious assault!
The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don’t need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components. The spell simply takes effect.
Answer: You should read it… and also learn what a requirement is and what the phrase “The spell simply takes effect,” means as of right now you seem unable to comprehend what wish does.
This is not a blank slate as you are treating it.
Answer: No I’m not it treating it as a blank slate. Wish at it’s core replicates a spell but that spell is now instantaneous, 1 action, just like wish and it also requires no components (including costly ones), you don’t need the spell prepared or even have it on your spell list those are some of the things it alters it doesn’t change the range of the duplicated spell or make it do things it didn’t already do all it does is make you be able to cast the spell and have it “simply take effect.”
It doesn't mean that range can be ignored such that you can Dominate a Person who is anywhere in the multiverse away from you.
Answer: Range is not a requirement and I never said that wish ignores range (also see above with response 2).
It doesn't mean that all environmental restrictions are removed such that you can target that person even though that person is in an antimagic zone.
Answer: Um yeah no duh wish is still magic so wish cannot suddenly work on antimagic field unless a DM says so.
It doesn't mean that you can remove all target restrictions such that you can cast Dominate Person on a Plane. "Any requirements" doesn't actually mean any requirements. If it did, then you could Sequester the entire Abyss with a 9th level spell.
Answer: It is “any requirements in that spell“ not just any requirements as you say. As it has to be in the spell for the requirement to be ignored so you can cast the spell.
What it actually refers to is things like class, components, whether you know the target, etc. Parameters are not requirements.
Answer: Already addressed most of this in my second response so won’t say much to this.
Anyways I’ll say it again Wish has an duration of instantaneous, a casting time of one action, it allows the wizard to duplicate a spell of 8th level or lower, it enables that the spell can just “simply take effect,” and that you don’t need to meet any requirements of that spell even costly components.
So I’m wondering where in that whole spell description of Wish where do you get the impression of “it still keeps the casting time” when the casting of Wish is one action and the spell is instantaneous so after you cast it there is nothing else you need to do.
Wren, I didn’t confirm or deny any point of view on magic jar. Wish says the spell “takes effect,” so there is reason casting time would be ignored, but not a reason range would be ignored, because range is part of the effect but casting time is what happens before the effect. Deathknight knows the effect of wish.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Royalty among the charge kingdom. All will fall before our glorious assault!
Anyways what I’m trying to say with magic jar you become the creature as your soul inhabits it and you control it.
No, you don’t become the creature. You _control_ the creature. That is not the same thing.
If you became the creature, then you’d have its class levels.
Answer: Read the Spell Magic Jar it specifically omits class features and you keep your mental ability scores and personality and such.
“Once you possess a creature's body, you control it. Your game statistics are replaced by the statistics of the creature, though you retain your alignment and your Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores. You retain the benefit of your own class features. If the target has any class levels, you can't use any of its class features.”
And when you possess a creature you have that creatures stats for all intents and purposes and are treated as that creature and as such are that creature.
Think of possession as if it is a condition and exorcise as the cure since while you are that creature you have the possession condition but if someone cures/removes that condition you cease to be that creature anymore hope that helps you understand.
But as King says the strategy works as I said and while you may have a hard time understanding it it does work by RAW even though I could understand why a DM might have their gripes with it as it is very strong but that is not the discussion we are having.
So I’m wondering where in that whole spell description of Wish where do you get the impression of “it still keeps the casting time” when the casting of Wish is one action and the spell is instantaneous so after you cast it there is nothing else you need to do.
You just acknowledged that range is not a requirement of the spell. So, on what basis are you saying that range is not a.requirement, but casting time is? Break it down for me. Don’t just hand wave it or blow smoke. Don’t just assert things without evidence or even justification. Explain to me why you think range is not a requirement, but casting time is.
Answer: I’ll say this Wish once more the casting time is 1 action, duration Instantaneous, and a range of self. And since the wizard replicate the spell so you use it’s range It’s not that hard to understand.
So I’m wondering where in that whole spell description of Wish where do you get the impression of “it still keeps the casting time” when the casting of Wish is one action and the spell is instantaneous so after you cast it there is nothing else you need to do.
You just acknowledged that range is not a requirement of the spell. So, on what basis are you saying that range is not a.requirement, but casting time is? Break it down for me. Don’t just hand wave it or blow smoke. Don’t just assert things without evidence or even justification. Explain to me why you think range is not a requirement, but casting time is.
Answer: I’ll say this Wish once more the casting time is 1 action, duration Instantaneous, and a range of self. And since the wizard replicate the spell so you use it’s range It’s not that hard to understand.
Wish has a casting time because it doesn’t always duplicate a spell.
The casting time applies for spell replication. The casting time is a requirement because that is how long you must spend to cast the spell. Range is simply part of the effect of the spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Royalty among the charge kingdom. All will fall before our glorious assault!
“The spell simply takes effect” in the wish spell.
That’s the quote.
Wish takes 1 action to cast, and it replicates the spell. “The spell simply takes effect” then and there so the casting time gets removed. The range doesn’t have any reason to be affected by replicating the spell so it isn’t.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Royalty among the charge kingdom. All will fall before our glorious assault!
“The spell simply takes effect” in the wish spell.
That’s the quote.
Wish takes 1 action to cast, and it replicates the spell. “The spell simply takes effect” then and there so the casting time gets removed. The range doesn’t have any reason to be affected by replicating the spell so it isn’t.
It does not say "the spell simply takes effect then and there." It says, "the spell simply takes effect." There is no wording which says that casting time is ignored, but range isn't. My PC is in Avernus. The target is on the 7th plane of hell. I want to Dominate him. I use Wish to duplicate Dominate Person. The spell simply takes effect. Nothing in that statement says that range isn't ignored.
So, why do you ignore casting time and not range?
The casting time is in the spell: wish takes 1 action regardless of how you use it.
So if you use spell replication you replicate that spell in one action.
“The spell simply takes effect” in the wish spell.
That’s the quote.
Wish takes 1 action to cast, and it replicates the spell. “The spell simply takes effect” then and there so the casting time gets removed. The range doesn’t have any reason to be affected by replicating the spell so it isn’t.
It does not say "the spell simply takes effect then and there." It says, "the spell simply takes effect." There is no wording which says that casting time is ignored, but range isn't. My PC is in Avernus. The target is on the 7th plane of hell. I want to Dominate him. I use Wish to duplicate Dominate Person. The spell simply takes effect. Nothing in that statement says that range isn't ignored.
So, why do you ignore casting time and not range?
But if it doesn't take effect then and there, then there is no guarantee that it takes effect, like I don't think any other spell has language like that and if so, it's probably an action casting
If it it's a spell with a 24 hour casting time and you die...then it doesn't take effect If it's a one day spell like Clone then it probably doesn't "Simply take effect" because so much can happen over the course of the day
There is no direct quote, but there is an overwhelming amount of evidence that the casting time is ignored, and some evidence that range stays the same. The spell takes effect when the casting time is done. The wish only keeps the effect of the spell, and does not actually cast it. This is also how it ignores components. Does simulacrum take effect at the start or end of the casting time?
The range is part of the “effect” of the spell. Everything is kept except for the components, casting time, and other requirements to cast the spell. Once you’ve finished casting it, that’s the effect. Wish replicates that, including ranges.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Royalty among the charge kingdom. All will fall before our glorious assault!
“The spell simply takes effect” in the wish spell.
That’s the quote.
Wish takes 1 action to cast, and it replicates the spell. “The spell simply takes effect” then and there so the casting time gets removed. The range doesn’t have any reason to be affected by replicating the spell so it isn’t.
It does not say "the spell simply takes effect then and there." It says, "the spell simply takes effect." There is no wording which says that casting time is ignored, but range isn't. My PC is in Avernus. The target is on the 7th plane of hell. I want to Dominate him. I use Wish to duplicate Dominate Person. The spell simply takes effect. Nothing in that statement says that range isn't ignored.
So, why do you ignore casting time and not range?
But if it doesn't take effect then and there, then there is no guarantee that it takes effect, like I don't think any other spell has language like that and if so, it's probably an action casting
If it it's a spell with a 24 hour casting time and you die...then it doesn't take effect If it's a one day spell like Clone then it probably doesn't "Simply take effect" because so much can happen over the course of the day
This guy gets it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Royalty among the charge kingdom. All will fall before our glorious assault!
I'm still waiting for any of you to give me a page number and direct quote which _actually_ says to use Wish' casting time, but not Wish' range.
Answer: Here's the information you want so much:
Page 203 see "Casting a Spell." of the Players Handbook (PHB)
"When a character casts any spell, the same basic rules are followed, regardless of the character's class or the spell's effects.
Each spell description begins with a block of information, including the spell's name, level, school of magic, casting time, range, components, and duration. The rest of a spell entry describes the spell's effect."
Page 203 see "Casting Time" of the Players Handbook (PHB)
"Most spells require a single action to cast, but some spells require a bonus action, a reaction, or much more time to cast."
Page 289-289 see "Wish" in the Players Handbook (PHB)
"Casting Time: 1 action
Range: Self
Components: V
Duration: Instantaneous
Wish is the mightiest spell a mortal creature can cast. By simply speaking aloud, you can alter the very foundations of reality in accord with your desires.
The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components. The spell simply takes effect."
I have bolded everything you would need to to know, given you the page numbers, and quoted exactly what you need to see and once for all I'll explain it to you once more just so you get it. The Wish has a Cast Time of 1 action, it's Duration is instantaneous, and Range is Self as the effect of the Wish spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. The spell effect generated by Wish makes the wizard not need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components as the spell simply takes effect.
So that means if I used the spell Wish to generate the spell Resurrection to use on a dead ally Wish would allow the wizard to cast such a spell in a instant reviving the dead ally.
And If you somehow still think Wish doesn't do what we are trying to say it does then here is some other websites that do agree:
I'm still waiting for any of you to give me a page number and direct quote which _actually_ says to use Wish' casting time, but not Wish' range.
Answer: Here's the information you want so much:
Page 203 see "Casting a Spell." of the Players Handbook (PHB)
"When a character casts any spell, the same basic rules are followed, regardless of the character's class or the spell's effects.
Each spell description begins with a block of information, including the spell's name, level, school of magic, casting time, range, components, and duration. The rest of a spell entry describes the spell's effect."
Page 203 see "Casting Time" of the Players Handbook (PHB)
"Most spells require a single action to cast, but some spells require a bonus action, a reaction, or much more time to cast."
Page 289-289 see "Wish" in the Players Handbook (PHB)
"Casting Time: 1 action
Range: Self
Components: V
Duration: Instantaneous
Wish is the mightiest spell a mortal creature can cast. By simply speaking aloud, you can alter the very foundations of reality in accord with your desires.
The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components. The spell simply takes effect."
I have bolded everything you would need to to know, given you the page numbers, and quoted exactly what you need to see and once for all I'll explain it to you once more just so you get it. The Wish has a Cast Time of 1 action, it's Duration is instantaneous, and Range is Self as the effect of the Wish spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. The spell effect generated by Wish makes the wizard not need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components as the spell simply takes effect.
So that means if I used the spell Wish to generate the spell Resurrection to use on a dead ally Wish would allow the wizard to cast such a spell in a instant reviving the dead ally.
And If you somehow still think Wish doesn't do what we are trying to say it does then here is some other websites that do agree:
Answer: Haha thank you I spent a good amount of time on it so I'm glad you like it.
If your link had wet to Sage Advice, it would have been significant.
Answer: Well then Wren do you have any and I mean any proof to support your claim that what we say is wrong or not fully supported by the rules... oh wait I can answer that question for you.
No you can't and why do you want sage advice? when I gave you the page number and quotes from the literal Players Handbook an official book from wizards of the coast which supports my claim. And yet you still have the rancor and gaul to ask for tweet from sage advice that you know doesn't exist even though I have shown you the text straight from the PHB.
Instead, it is a single reply by some anonymous poster whose significance is no greater than any of our's.
Answer: What in the world? When can't I be happy that someone liked my post and my gosh are you utterly disrespectful and stubborn to the point even in the face of quotes, page numbers, and the actual spells own description you STILL are unable to believe that your claim is wrong even though all the evidence is against you and the entire consensus from the community is that our claim is correct.
Wren I'll be straight with you... you have no argument... like at all. All you do Is repeatedly say "you don't have actual RAW evidence" when I show you this...
I'm still waiting for any of you to give me a page number and direct quote which _actually_ says to use Wish' casting time, but not Wish' range.
Answer: Here's the information you want so much:
Page 203 see "Casting a Spell." of the Players Handbook (PHB)
"When a character casts any spell, the same basic rules are followed, regardless of the character's class or the spell's effects.
Each spell description begins with a block of information, including the spell's name, level, school of magic, casting time, range, components, and duration. The rest of a spell entry describes the spell's effect."
Page 203 see "Casting Time" of the Players Handbook (PHB)
"Most spells require a single action to cast, but some spells require a bonus action, a reaction, or much more time to cast."
Page 289-289 see "Wish" in the Players Handbook (PHB)
"Casting Time: 1 action
Range: Self
Components: V
Duration: Instantaneous
Wish is the mightiest spell a mortal creature can cast. By simply speaking aloud, you can alter the very foundations of reality in accord with your desires.
The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components. The spell simply takes effect."
I have bolded everything you would need to to know, given you the page numbers, and quoted exactly what you need to see and once for all I'll explain it to you once more just so you get it. The Wish has a Cast Time of 1 action, it's Duration is instantaneous, and Range is Self as the effect of the Wish spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. The spell effect generated by Wish makes the wizard not need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components as the spell simply takes effect.
So that means if I used the spell Wish to generate the spell Resurrection to use on a dead ally Wish would allow the wizard to cast such a spell in a instant reviving the dead ally.
And If you somehow still think Wish doesn't do what we are trying to say it does then here is some other websites that do agree:
Now that is all I have for you if you still think otherwise you are sadly a lost cause.
Guess what you do... you ignore it and say "you don't have actual RAW evidence" when I literally quoted the passage from the PHB but you just play it off.
This isn't an argument between me and you this is me repeatedly preaching to a wall of stone while nothing happens since I am ignored repeatedly and disrespected and I'm done with this supposed "argument" as you are unable to bring up anything to support your claim besides just remarking 'you don't have actual RAW evidence" in the face of actual RAW evidence.
Now if you give me a reason as to why those quotes are wrong or whatever then we might actually have something to debate but you haven't and you probably won't.
Answer: Haha thank you I spent a good amount of time on it so I'm glad you like it.
If your link had wet to Sage Advice, it would have been significant. Instead, it is a single reply by some anonymous poster whose significance is no greater than any of our's.
You have no more significance than any of these guys or us, so at this point it is 4 randos vs 1 rando. Do you have any proof?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Royalty among the charge kingdom. All will fall before our glorious assault!
Answer: Haha thank you I spent a good amount of time on it so I'm glad you like it.
If your link had wet to Sage Advice, it would have been significant. Instead, it is a single reply by some anonymous poster whose significance is no greater than any of our's.
You have no more significance than any of these guys or us, so at this point it is 4 randos vs 1 rando. Do you have any proof?
Is that where we're at? Your only argument is that four to one randos agree with you?
You said deathknight’s outside sources had no more significance than any of us and you aren’t satisfied with any proof we gave, but you provided no more proof than anyone else, so that is what you left us with. Show actual proof of what you say, and then tell us to show ours.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Royalty among the charge kingdom. All will fall before our glorious assault!
You said deathknight’s outside sources had no more significance than any of us and you aren’t satisfied with any proof we gave, but you provided no more proof than anyone else, so that is what you left us with. Show actual proof of what you say, and then tell us to show ours.
Answer: Yep absolutely agree Wren just needs to show evidence that could prove his claim then we could start to have a debate but he doesn't (not like there's much proof out there to support his stance to begin with anyways). And since he doesn't/can't backup his stance with evidence all Wren has done is just play off/ignore what evidence we bring forth.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Answer: While it may seem weird to you but it does work look again at the Magic Jar and [spell{Clone[/spell] spells. I’ll quote the parts I’m talking about.
Magic Jar: “Once you possess a creature's body, you control it. Your game statistics are replaced by the statistics of the creature, though you retain your alignment and your Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores. You retain the benefit of your own class features. If the target has any class levels, you can't use any of its class features.“
Clone: “At any time after the clone matures, if the original creature dies, its soul transfers to the clone, provided that the soul is free and willing to return. The clone is physically identical to the original and has the same personality, memories, and abilities, but none of the original's equipment.”
Anyways what I’m trying to say with magic jar you become the creature as your soul inhabits it and you control it.
Additionally the reason why when we have to cast [spell{Power Word Kill[/spell], or [spell{Disintegrate[/spell] on us after we become the creature with magic jar is so the wizard’s soul dies as that creature and therefore transfers into a cloned body.
While there is more I could go into I just wanna say yes it does work and if you still don’t think so I’ll post again in a bit.
The sim-wish does work as advertised. The only reason it doesn’t is if the dm decides they want game balance to remain. And the main thing doesn’t really depend on subclass either. True polymorph and shapechange are unfightable. The top ones simply are better than average at surviving to do it or at going first and doing it before the fighter reacts. The illusionist isn’t better than most at either. I can’t really add to the magic jar debate though.
Royalty among the charge kingdom. All will fall before our glorious assault!
Quest offer! Enter the deep dungeon here
Ctg’s blood is on the spam filter’s hands
Answer: You should read it… and also learn what a requirement is and what the phrase “The spell simply takes effect,” means as of right now you seem unable to comprehend what wish does.
Answer: No I’m not it treating it as a blank slate.
Wish at it’s core replicates a spell but that spell is now instantaneous, 1 action, just like wish and it also requires no components (including costly ones), you don’t need the spell prepared or even have it on your spell list those are some of the things it alters it doesn’t change the range of the duplicated spell or make it do things it didn’t already do all it does is make you be able to cast the spell and have it “simply take effect.”
Answer: Range is not a requirement and I never said that wish ignores range (also see above with response 2).
Answer: Um yeah no duh wish is still magic so wish cannot suddenly work on antimagic field unless a DM says so.
Answer: It is “any requirements in that spell“ not just any requirements as you say. As it has to be in the spell for the requirement to be ignored so you can cast the spell.
Answer: Already addressed most of this in my second response so won’t say much to this.
Anyways I’ll say it again Wish has an duration of instantaneous, a casting time of one action, it allows the wizard to duplicate a spell of 8th level or lower, it enables that the spell can just “simply take effect,” and that you don’t need to meet any requirements of that spell even costly components.
So I’m wondering where in that whole spell description of Wish where do you get the impression of “it still keeps the casting time” when the casting of Wish is one action and the spell is instantaneous so after you cast it there is nothing else you need to do.
Wren, I didn’t confirm or deny any point of view on magic jar. Wish says the spell “takes effect,” so there is reason casting time would be ignored, but not a reason range would be ignored, because range is part of the effect but casting time is what happens before the effect. Deathknight knows the effect of wish.
Royalty among the charge kingdom. All will fall before our glorious assault!
Quest offer! Enter the deep dungeon here
Ctg’s blood is on the spam filter’s hands
Answer: Read the Spell Magic Jar it specifically omits class features and you keep your mental ability scores and personality and such.
“Once you possess a creature's body, you control it. Your game statistics are replaced by the statistics of the creature, though you retain your alignment and your Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores. You retain the benefit of your own class features. If the target has any class levels, you can't use any of its class features.”
And when you possess a creature you have that creatures stats for all intents and purposes and are treated as that creature and as such are that creature.
Think of possession as if it is a condition and exorcise as the cure since while you are that creature you have the possession condition but if someone cures/removes that condition you cease to be that creature anymore hope that helps you understand.
But as King says the strategy works as I said and while you may have a hard time understanding it it does work by RAW even though I could understand why a DM might have their gripes with it as it is very strong but that is not the discussion we are having.
Answer: I’ll say this Wish once more the casting time is 1 action, duration Instantaneous, and a range of self. And since the wizard replicate the spell so you use it’s range It’s not that hard to understand.
The casting time applies for spell replication. The casting time is a requirement because that is how long you must spend to cast the spell. Range is simply part of the effect of the spell.
Royalty among the charge kingdom. All will fall before our glorious assault!
Quest offer! Enter the deep dungeon here
Ctg’s blood is on the spam filter’s hands
“The spell simply takes effect” in the wish spell.
That’s the quote.
Wish takes 1 action to cast, and it replicates the spell. “The spell simply takes effect” then and there so the casting time gets removed. The range doesn’t have any reason to be affected by replicating the spell so it isn’t.
Royalty among the charge kingdom. All will fall before our glorious assault!
Quest offer! Enter the deep dungeon here
Ctg’s blood is on the spam filter’s hands
The casting time is in the spell: wish takes 1 action regardless of how you use it.
So if you use spell replication you replicate that spell in one action.
https://rpgbot.net/dnd5/characters/spells/wish/
https://rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/106819/when-wish-is-used-to-emulate-a-spell-what-is-the-casting-time
But if it doesn't take effect then and there, then there is no guarantee that it takes effect, like I don't think any other spell has language like that and if so, it's probably an action casting
If it it's a spell with a 24 hour casting time and you die...then it doesn't take effect If it's a one day spell like Clone then it probably doesn't "Simply take effect" because so much can happen over the course of the day
There is no direct quote, but there is an overwhelming amount of evidence that the casting time is ignored, and some evidence that range stays the same. The spell takes effect when the casting time is done. The wish only keeps the effect of the spell, and does not actually cast it. This is also how it ignores components. Does simulacrum take effect at the start or end of the casting time?
The range is part of the “effect” of the spell. Everything is kept except for the components, casting time, and other requirements to cast the spell. Once you’ve finished casting it, that’s the effect. Wish replicates that, including ranges.
Royalty among the charge kingdom. All will fall before our glorious assault!
Quest offer! Enter the deep dungeon here
Ctg’s blood is on the spam filter’s hands
This guy gets it.
Royalty among the charge kingdom. All will fall before our glorious assault!
Quest offer! Enter the deep dungeon here
Ctg’s blood is on the spam filter’s hands
Answer: Here's the information you want so much:
Page 203 see "Casting a Spell." of the Players Handbook (PHB)
"When a character casts any spell, the same basic rules are followed, regardless of the character's class or the spell's effects.
Each spell description begins with a block of information, including the spell's name, level, school of magic, casting time, range, components, and duration. The rest of a spell entry describes the spell's effect."
Page 203 see "Casting Time" of the Players Handbook (PHB)
"Most spells require a single action to cast, but some spells require a bonus action, a reaction, or much more time to cast."
Page 289-289 see "Wish" in the Players Handbook (PHB)
"Casting Time: 1 action
Range: Self
Components: V
Duration: Instantaneous
Wish is the mightiest spell a mortal creature can cast. By simply speaking aloud, you can alter the very foundations of reality in accord with your desires.
The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components. The spell simply takes effect."
I have bolded everything you would need to to know, given you the page numbers, and quoted exactly what you need to see and once for all I'll explain it to you once more just so you get it. The Wish has a Cast Time of 1 action, it's Duration is instantaneous, and Range is Self as the effect of the Wish spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. The spell effect generated by Wish makes the wizard not need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components as the spell simply takes effect.
So that means if I used the spell Wish to generate the spell Resurrection to use on a dead ally Wish would allow the wizard to cast such a spell in a instant reviving the dead ally.
And If you somehow still think Wish doesn't do what we are trying to say it does then here is some other websites that do agree:
First Link
Second Link
Now that is all I have for you if you still think otherwise you are sadly a lost cause.
I wish I could give you real money for this post!
Answer: Haha thank you I spent a good amount of time on it so I'm glad you like it.
Answer: Well then Wren do you have any and I mean any proof to support your claim that what we say is wrong or not fully supported by the rules... oh wait I can answer that question for you.
No you can't and why do you want sage advice? when I gave you the page number and quotes from the literal Players Handbook an official book from wizards of the coast which supports my claim. And yet you still have the rancor and gaul to ask for tweet from sage advice that you know doesn't exist even though I have shown you the text straight from the PHB.
Answer: What in the world? When can't I be happy that someone liked my post and my gosh are you utterly disrespectful and stubborn to the point even in the face of quotes, page numbers, and the actual spells own description you STILL are unable to believe that your claim is wrong even though all the evidence is against you and the entire consensus from the community is that our claim is correct.
Wren I'll be straight with you... you have no argument... like at all. All you do Is repeatedly say "you don't have actual RAW evidence" when I show you this...
Guess what you do... you ignore it and say "you don't have actual RAW evidence" when I literally quoted the passage from the PHB but you just play it off.
This isn't an argument between me and you this is me repeatedly preaching to a wall of stone while nothing happens since I am ignored repeatedly and disrespected and I'm done with this supposed "argument" as you are unable to bring up anything to support your claim besides just remarking 'you don't have actual RAW evidence" in the face of actual RAW evidence.
Now if you give me a reason as to why those quotes are wrong or whatever then we might actually have something to debate but you haven't and you probably won't.
You have no more significance than any of these guys or us, so at this point it is 4 randos vs 1 rando. Do you have any proof?
Royalty among the charge kingdom. All will fall before our glorious assault!
Quest offer! Enter the deep dungeon here
Ctg’s blood is on the spam filter’s hands
You said deathknight’s outside sources had no more significance than any of us and you aren’t satisfied with any proof we gave, but you provided no more proof than anyone else, so that is what you left us with. Show actual proof of what you say, and then tell us to show ours.
Royalty among the charge kingdom. All will fall before our glorious assault!
Quest offer! Enter the deep dungeon here
Ctg’s blood is on the spam filter’s hands
Answer: Yep absolutely agree Wren just needs to show evidence that could prove his claim then we could start to have a debate but he doesn't (not like there's much proof out there to support his stance to begin with anyways). And since he doesn't/can't backup his stance with evidence all Wren has done is just play off/ignore what evidence we bring forth.